Shire pres­i­dent loses elec­tion

South Western Times - - News - Emily Ace

OUT­GO­ING Don­ny­brook-Balin­gup shire pres­i­dent An­gelo Logiu­dice, who had served as a coun­cil­lor since 2009, was not re­elected in the Lo­cal Govern­ment Elec­tions on Satur­day.

Mr Logiu­dice had held the po­si­tion for the past two years, but trailed 70 votes be­hind coun­cil­lor Anne Mitchell (1073 votes) to lose his seat. Brian Piesse was elected pres­i­dent over fel­low nom­i­nee Dawn Tan af­ter two bal­lots at a spe­cial coun­cil meet­ing on Mon­day. Leanne Wringe was elected deputy.

The shire had a 55.24 per cent vote re­turn rate, an in­crease of about 30 per cent from 2015, with 26 in­for­mal votes re­turned and 46 re­jected by the West Aus­tralian Elec­toral Com­mis­sion.

The coun­cil wel­comed four new coun­cil­lors, with Leanne Wringe top­ping the votes on 1654.

She was fol­lowed by Shane Ather­ton (1491), Anita Lin­de­mann (1243), Brian Piesse (1192) and coun­cil­lor Mitchell who had served since 2009.

Cr John Bai­ley did not re­gain his seat, polling only 752 votes. Coun­cil­lors Steve Dil­ley and Leith Crow­ley opted not to re-nom­i­nate.

The Shire of Col­lie also boasted a high re­turn rate of 41 per cent, im­prov­ing from 33.65 per cent in the 2015 elec­tion.

Out­go­ing pres­i­dent Wayne San­ford, who had held the po­si­tion for 10 years, deputy Glenn Yates and Cr Neil Martin opted not to renom­i­nate. Mr San­ford was suc­ceeded by Cr Sarah Stan­ley, who was elected pres­i­dent un­op­posed at a spe­cial meet­ing on Tues­day night, where Cr Ian Mif­fling was elected as deputy un­op­posed.

Cr Stan­ley polled the high­est with 1583 votes, fol­lowed by Leonie Scof­fern (1531), Brett King (1457), Michelle Smith (1363), Re­becca Woods (1240) and Cr John Pi­a­vanini (1196). Cr Nola Green (1174) was un­suc­cess­ful.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.