Southern Gazette (South Perth) - - LIFESTYLE - Jaime Shurmer

THE City of South Perth an­nounced the win­ners of its Young Writ­ers Award on Fri­day, July 22.

The awards were open to peo­ple liv­ing in or at­tend­ing school in the City of South Perth.

The Chris­to­bel Mat­tin­g­ley Bronze Medal­lion, awarded to the most outstanding en­try in any given year, was pre­sented to Year 8 Mercedes Col­lege stu­dent Lily Graves for her en­try Sooner or Later.

First prize awards were pre­sented to Year 1 stu­dents Chris­tian O’Neill and Evan Rat­cliffe, both from Aquinas Col­lege.

The first prize for lower pri­mary went to home-schooled stu­dent Madeleine Pink, while Paige Chilcott (St Columba’s Catholic Pri­mary School) and James Richardson (South Perth Pri­mary School) shared sec­ond prize.

The highly com­mended award for lower pri­mary went to Nate Dodg­son, of St Columba’s Catholic Pri­mary School.

In the up­per pri­mary cat­e­gory, Ethan O’Con­nor and Ri­ley Plester, both of Aquinas Col­lege, re­ceived first and sec­ond prize re­spec­tively.

Emily Las­sam, of Pen­rhos Col­lege, was highly com­mended, along with Ella Richardson, of South Perth Pri­mary School, and Han­nah Sy­mons, of Como Pri­mary School.

Pen­rhos Col­lege was well rep­re­sented in the high school cat­e­gories, with first prize for up­per sec­ondary go­ing to Char­lotte Har­vey-Lissienko and sec­ond prize in lower sec­ondary to He­lena O’Sul­li­van.

Amelia Jones, also from Pen­rhos, was highly com­mended in that cat­e­gory.

First prize in lower sec­ondary went to Lily Graves, from Mercedes Col­lege.

A to­tal of 455 en­tries were pre­sented for judg­ing.

“Cel­e­brat­ing the 30th an­niver­sary of the South Perth Young Writ­ers Award is an achieve­ment for the City and I ac­knowl­edge the time, ef­fort and sup­port of ev­ery­one in­volved that has en­sured this event has con­tin­ued,” City of South Perth Mayor Sue Do­herty said.

“It’s won­der­ful to see such tal­ent in our City and I en­cour­age all those who have such a strong in­ter­est in writ­ing to con­tinue to de­velop your skills in this area.”

Each year an an­thol­ogy of win­ning en­tries is pro­duced to recog­nise the achieve­ment of the young writ­ers, with copies of th­ese an­tholo­gies avail­able to view at South Perth Li­brary.

The 2016 an­thol­ogy is avail­able to view in the li­brary sec­tion of the City’s web­site.

En­tries for the 2017 awards will open in early Jan­uary.

Chris­to­bel Mat­tin­g­ley Bronze Medal­lion award win­ner Lily Graves ac­cepts her award from City of South Perth Mayor Sue Do­herty.

South Perth Young Writ­ers Award win­ners with Mayor Sue Do­herty.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.