Sacked coun­cil­lors voted back

Sunday Herald Sun - - NEWS -

A MIX of old and new faces have been elected for the next three years to serve on the City of Greater Gee­long coun­cil.

Sacked coun­cil­lors Eddy Kon­telj, Peter Mur­rihy, Ron Nel­son and Bruce Har­wood have all been re­turned to of­fice, along with a num­ber of first­time elected rep­re­sen­ta­tives such as Sarah Mans­field and Jim Ma­son.

The pro­vi­sional re­sults were de­clared by the Vic­to­rian Elec- toral Com­mis­sion yes­ter­day af­ter­noon, the first city­wide vote since the 2013 pres­i­den­tial-style poll for mayor which re­sulted in busi­ness­man Dar­ryn Lyons be­ing elected as the city’s leader.

Un­der the new sys­tem in­sti­tuted by the An­drews Gov­ern­ment, the new 11 coun­cil­lors will de­ter­mine who will be the city’s next mayor af­ter two years of un­elected rule in the mu­nic­i­pal­ity. A de­ci­sion is like- ly to be made within weeks.

Mr Har­wood is the only coun­cil­lor elected who has pre­vi­ously served as mayor of the City of Greater Gee­long, hav­ing led the coun­cil be­tween 2006 and 2008.

Shortly af­ter the re­sults were an­nounced, sacked mayor Mr Lyons tweeted it was “pretty em­bar­rass­ing” for Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment Min­is­ter Na­talie Hutchins as for­mer coun­cil­lors were re­turned.

Bruce Har­wood has been re­turned to of­fice in Gee­long.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.