Off­load and quickly re­store lit­tle-used iOS apps

APPS THAT YOU DON’T OPEN FOR A WHILE CAN BE PAINLESSLY RE­MOVED AND RE­IN­STALLED AT A LATER DATE.

TechLife Australia - - WELCOME - [ DAVID CROOKES ]

BE­FORE, WHEN YOU sought to free up space on your iDe­vice by re­mov­ing those apps you barely use, there used to be one op­tion: com­plete dele­tion. Since iOS 11, how­ever, an al­ter­na­tive method called ‘of­fload­ing’ was in­tro­duced. Now, in­stead of per­ma­nently rid­ding an app and all of its data and doc­u­ments, of­fload­ing re­tains the lat­ter. You can re­in­stall an off­loaded app once you need it and con­tinue en­joy­ing the in­for­ma­tion you’d once saved in it.

Here, we look at two ways of do­ing this. The first is au­to­matic. Se­lect this and Ap­ple de­cides when it’s time to off­load an app, usu­ally by fig­ur­ing out how long it’s been since you last used it. The sec­ond is man­ual and, in many ways, prefer­able be­cause it puts you in greater con­trol. It also pro­tects against fu­ture prob­lems as we’ll later see.

Apps you rarely use can can off­loaded and re-in­stalled at a later date, but their data re­mains.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.