Perth SC de­nies Glory for ti­tle

The Advocate (Perth) - - SPORT -

PERTH Soc­cer Club has been crowned 2018 NPL WA cham­pion af­ter a 2-0 win against Joon­dalup United on Satur­day af­ter­noon.

Perth Glory looked set to take the crown for the first time since the NPL WA’s in­cep­tion, need­ing only to draw or win to earn the ti­tle, but Subiaco was able to eke out a 1-0 win.

With both the Perth SC/Joon­dalup United and Perth Glory/Subiaco games run at the same time, Perth SC play­ers had to wait five ag­o­nis­ing min­utes af­ter their match ended to find out they were 2018 cham­pi­ons.

It was Perth SC’s sec­ond ti­tle in three years, which coach Ra­mon Fal­zon said was a “bril­liant” feel­ing.

“The boys worked hard all sea­son; we were al­ways chas­ing, chas­ing be­hind all sea­son but we kept be­liev­ing and push­ing,” he said.

A Foot­ball West spokesman said it had been an “ex­tremely com­pet­i­tive and un­pre­dictable” sea­son and pre­dicted good things for 2019.

“The NPL WA will re­turn to 12 teams next sea­son and a leaner com­pe­ti­tion should re­sult in a stronger com­pe­ti­tion with even more closely-fought games,” he said.

Glory’s suc­cess in this year’s com­pe­ti­tion will mean an ex­tra fi­nan­cial wind­fall for those clubs that fin­ished third to fifth on the lad­der. The com­pe­ti­tion’s top four are awarded prize money of $12,000, $4000, $2000 and $1000 re­spec­tively, but with Perth Glory un­able to win any money due to be­ing a pro­fes­sional club, Foot­ball West re­dis­tributed the win­nings to in­clude the fifth­placed fin­isher. Jes­sica Nico

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.