If I left home I’d be liv­ing in a tent

The Daily Telegraph (Sydney) - Best Weekend - - FRONT PAGE -

Paige Bel­lenger, 19, lives with her par­ents in Port Mac­quarie and has re­cently completed a Cer­tifi­cate III in nurs­ing. She says she would like to move out, but can’t af­ford to while work­ing ca­su­ally un­til she finds a full-time job. “When I left school it was re­ally dif­fi­cult to ob­tain a full-time job and I went on to study nurs­ing. But to be able to work full time and study is very dif­fi­cult and I wouldn’t have been able to keep good grades if I did both. The com­pany I work for had no con­tract for a base­line of hours, so some­times I’d find I had a re­ally good pay one fort­night and the next there would be no work. Paige Bel­lenger, 19, en­joys liv­ing at home while study­ing. Pic­ture: Nathan Ed­wards I pay for my car and all other bills, I pay my way but if I was to move out of home I’d be in a tent in a pad­dock. It’s just not vi­able for me to be able to af­ford the rent. And it’s such a com­pet­i­tive Be­cause mar­ket to get into. my pay fluc­tu­ates and isn’t real al­ways crash hot, es­tate agents as­sume I won’t and be able to pay the bills would fall be­hind. I’m for­tu­nate both my par­ents, al­low who are sep­a­rated, me to stay at home. I con­trib­ute to the house­hold bills and the gro­ceries, do my own wash­ing, clean­ing and help with house­hold chores. I do agree there are peo­ple around my age who don’t try and who are on ben­e­fits both­ered. be­cause they can’t be But there are still a lot of peo­ple damn hard.” try­ing re­ally

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.