Burgess be­comes life mem­ber

The Free Press (Corowa) - - CLASSIES (03) -

Greg Burgess has be­come a life mem­ber of the Corowa Cricket Club af­ter the club held its pre­sen­ta­tion on Sun­day, April 8 at Ball Park Oval.

Burgess has been a great ser­vant of the Cricket Club over his past 24 years of play­ing, rack­ing up 281 matches for the club.

In those matches, he made 4789 runs at 21 with a high­est score of 188*, Greg also took 537 wick­ets at 13.90 with a best of 7 for 14.

He has played in four pre­mier­ships, won the Crick­eter of the Year award 14 times, the bat­ting av­er­age five times and the bowling av­er­age 10 times.

Along with cap­tain­ing, the B Grade side for eight years and help­ing with the younger play­ers in B Grade through­out his ca­reer. A well-de­served re­ward for Greg. In A Grade, Nathan Rhodes won the Crick­eter of the Year award in the premier­ship year.

English­man Tyler Eas­ton took out the Bat­ting award while Mark Athani­tis took out the Bowling award.

Matt Gran­tham was awarded best in the Semi-Fi­nal for his knock of 62.

Matt Ross was best in the Pre­lim­i­nary Fi­nal for his 4 for 12 off 9 overs while coach Dan Athani­tis was awarded best in the Grand Fi­nal.

B Grade saw Greg Burgess take out his 14th Crick­eter of the Year award.

Young­ster Ja­cob Bartlett took out the Bat­ting award while Joe Hansen took home the Bowling Award.

In the fi­nals, Joe Hansen was awarded the Best in the Semi-Fi­nal, Greg Burgess the Best in Pre­lim­i­nary Fi­nal and Ja­cob Bartlett Best in the Grand Fi­nal.

C Grade saw Billy Raggett take out the Crick­eter of the Year award.

Corey Smith’s su­perb sea­son with bat saw him take out the Bat­ting award while Mark Wal­lis took out the Bowling Award.

Cap­tain Jake Bur­don won the Best in Semi­Fi­nal while De­clan Ste­wart won the Best in Grand Fi­nal.

In the Un­der 16’s Blue Cap­tain Jor­dan Ey­ers took out the Crick­eter of the Year, while Luke Back­house won the Bowling and Lochie Con­boy took out the Bat­ting.

Gabrielle Sut­cliffe re­ceived the Coaches award, An­gas McFarland won the Best in the Semi-Fi­nal and Darcy Melk­sham was best in the Grand Fi­nal.

While in the Un­der 16’s White side Luke Heag­ney was the Crick­eter of the Year, Will Sey­mour took out the Bat­ting, while Caleb Kuschert won the Bowling. Ja­cob Read re­ceived the Coaches award. Lah Suren­dran do­nated two awards for the Un­der 16’s and Jake Bev­eridge and Alex Lavis took them out.

In the club awards Gabrielle Sut­cliffe took out the Chris Tidd Most Promis­ing Un­der 21 player, while Bren­dan and Linda Ey­ers won the Club Peo­ple for the Year.

The club would like to ac­knowl­edge our spon­sors for this sea­son that are help­ing with the move to the new com­pe­ti­tion, Corowa RSL Club, Ho­tel Aus­tralia, David Lane Builder, Corowa Home Im­prove­ments, John Rhodes Brick­lay­ing, Sport­spower Corowa, David­son White, Potts & Sch­nelle, Meat on the Mur­ray, Stock­dale & Logo Corowa, Corowa Bak­ery, Phar­masave, Law­son Grains, BWS, Corowa Tree Care, GenTech Seeds, Bartletts Corowa Gas, Ki­lara Group Corowa, Ori­gin Cloth­ing, Brian Eales Paint­ing, Health Cul­ture and Wool­worths Corowa as well as the sup­port of the Fed­er­a­tion Coun­cil.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.