Laid­law, Thierry and Shor­tis win fi­nale


Wah­gun­yah Speed­way held its fi­nal nights rac­ing for the sea­son on Satur­day, June 9 with three main fea­ture events.

The event in­cluded the vis­it­ing Amca Na­tion­als and the Pro­duc­tion Sedan and Goul­burn Ovens Sedans 1000 events with wins go­ing the way of Frank Thierry from Mil­dura, Stephen Laid­law from Mor­well and Nathan Shor­tis from Mul­wala.

In Pro­duc­tion Sedan rac­ing for the Wah­gun­yah 1000 Laid­law did not have things all his own way, in fact he did not win any of the three qual­i­fy­ing races with the re­turn­ing An­drew Cun­ning­ham pick­ing up two of the three heat race wins and Bruce Robb who like Cun­ning­ham has not done much rac­ing in the last two sea­sons win­ning the other.

Seven en­trants greeted the starter for the fi­nal with Laid­law and Cun­ning­ham the front two pro­tag­o­nists. The lead two de­feated the rest of the field by a long way, al­most lap­ping all of the other five as Laid­law won from Cun­ning­ham, Robb, Rod­ney An­der­son and David Wal­ton.

Amca Na­tion­als vis­ited from fur­ther South with a few cars from around Mel­bourne whilst the even­tual win­ner was Thierry. Mostly com­pet­ing with 350 crate en­gines the eight cylin­der sound is like mu­sic to some ears within the dirt track world and three qual­i­fy­ing wins were shared by Neale Peachey and then Frank Thierry over Peachey in two very close fin­ishes at the line where both lead rac­ers were less than half a sec­ond apart.

The close­ness of the lead two cars con­tin­ued in a crack­ing fi­nal with Thierry again com­ing out on top and this time by .256 of a sec­ond from Peachey with Tas­ma­nian Rod­ney Bas­sett in third and Sharon Tin­dal fourth across the line.

Goul­burn Ovens Sedan As­so­ci­a­tion com­peti­tors were com­pet­ing in the GOSA 1000 and with enough com­peti­tors on hand to en­sure six heats the qual­i­fy­ing pro­duced some ex­cit­ing re­sults.

Jamie Atkin took out an im­pres­sive heat win first up, Shor­tis won the next two, Troy Frost won the fourth then Bren­dan Brewer and Shor­tis again mak­ing it a clean sweep for him in the heat race re­sults.

Four­teen cars made it to the start line for the fi­nal and the Pow­ell broth­ers from Beech­worth in­clud­ing the Vic­to­rian Cham­pion Liam had a tough field to try and beat to close out a great sea­son for them. A list of tal­ented rac­ers failed to finish the race in­clud­ing Peter Lit­tle whose car was a lit­tle bent af­ter a crash, Chelsea Cor­nelius, Danny McCarten, Brewer and James Pow­ell.

Shor­tis went on to make it four from four when he won the fi­nal from Liam Pow­ell, Atkin, Sam Davey and Frost.

War­rick Howie also had a clean sweep night in the Standard Saloons win­ning all three heat races be­fore win­ning the fi­nal in front of Trev Goldswor­thy, Micheal Flem­ing-Robert­son, Team Joosten and Bruce Prichard.

GOSA 1000 win­ner - Nathan Shor­tis from Mul­wala.

AMCA win­ner - Frank Thierry.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.