Bryant, Sokol­ski shine at Rab­bits’ cer­e­mony

The Gazette (Derwent Valley) - - SPORT - WADE GLEESON

THE Both­well Foot­ball Club fin­ished yet an­other suc­cess­ful sea­son when it held its tro­phy pre­sen­ta­tions awards night at its clu­b­rooms re­cently.

For the sec­ond con­sec­u­tive sea­son, it was the tal­ented Si­mon Bryant who took out the Best and Fairest award.

Bryant has been a very con­sis­tent con­trib­u­tor, also pick­ing up the Pres­i­dent’s Award.

Up-and-com­ing star Jamie Sokol­ski cleaned up with three tro­phies. He was run­ner-up in the best and fairest, and was named Best Un­der-21 player and Best First-Year Player. This young­ster cer­tainly looks to have a bright fu­ture.

Well done to Jason Branch, who was awarded life mem­ber­ship of the club.

Branch has been an un­tir­ing con­trib­u­tor both on and off the field for the Rab­bits over a long pe­riod and is a very de­serv­ing re­cip­i­ent of this award.

He also picked up the Most Ser­vice­able tro­phy.

With the club tak­ing out this year’s ODFA pre­mier­ship, mak­ing it a “three-peat”, it’s hard to see the Both­well train stop­ping any time soon, and one would think that coach Bradley Chap­lin will put his hand up to lead again.

Some play­ers have sig­nalled they are hang­ing up the boots, but with the club never hav­ing won four straight flags be­fore, I’m sure it won’t take much to twist their arms to help cre­ate his­tory.

Well done to all in­volved at this great club and con­grat­u­la­tions to all the tro­phy win­ners. It’s great to see footy thriv­ing at Both­well.

Tro­phy win­ners — Best and Fairest (award do­nated by the Bryant fam­ily): Si­mon Bryant. Run­ner-up (do­nated by Tony Bai­ley): Jamie Sokol­ski. Most Con­sis­tent, Jenny Brooks Me­mo­rial Award (do­nated by Michael Brooks): Jar­rod Horne. Most Ser­vice­able, De­bra Hoskin­son Me­mo­rial Award (do­nated by Terry Hoskin­son): Jason Branch. Best Back­man (do­nated by the Speed fam­ily): Nathan Ford. Best Un­der-21 Player, Steven Turner Me­mo­rial Award (do­nated by the Turner Fam­ily): Jamie Sokol­ski. Most Te­na­cious (do­nated by Peter and Deb­bie Rolls): Dy­lan Pearce. Most Po­ten­tial, Mick and Patsy Tal­bot Me­mo­rial Award (do­nated by the Tal­bot fam­ily): Bray­den Chap­lin. Lead­ing Goal­kicker (do­nated by the Cas­tle Ho­tel, De­nis Bell): Kris Cash­ion. Best First-Year Player (do­nated by An­drew Rolls and Jacki Miller): Jamie Sokol­ski. Best Club Per­son (do­nated by Bec and Jack­son Jones): Tracey Brazen­dale. Best in Fi­nals (do­nated by Mayor Loueen Trif­fitt): Scott Bone. Pres­i­dent’s Award (do­nated by Terry Hoskin­son): Si­mon Bryant. Coaches’ Award (do­nated by Brazen­dale Bros): Steven Ar­dle. Life Mem­ber­ship: Jason Branch.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.