Bril­liant Buck­ley to the four

The Riverine Herald - - BOWLS - By Alex Mitchell

SI­MON Buck­ley has again been ac­knowl­edged for his fan­tas­tic sea­son, tak­ing out Echuca’s best and fairest on Satur­day night.

As ex­pected, the for­mer AFL player’s con­sis­tency and class was too much for any player to over­come, the fourth time in five sea­sons he has won the award.

Young­ster Jonte Opie, who was called up to the se­nior side late in the sea­son, won the un­der 17s best and fairest.

For the net­ballers, Erin Hill’s tremen­dous sea­son was rightly recog- nised, tak­ing out the Judy Haw Medal for the A grade best and fairest.

Dear­nah Kent was run­ner-up, while Abby Poul­ton took the coach’s award.

And Clau­dia Maw­son was recog­nised for her hand in tak­ing Echuca’s un­der 17s to the GVL grand fi­nal with the best and fairest, win­ning the award from Brid­get Byrne. Mar­garet Green was given the coach’s award.

Out­go­ing pres­i­dent Brett Stevens was hon­oured at the night as club per­son of the year. ■ ECHUCA United re­cently held its se­nior pre­sen­ta­tion night, with dash­ing de­fender Corey Wan­ga­neen and gun cen­tre Gra­cie Ber­ry­man tak­ing home the top gongs for se­nior foot­ball and A grade net­ball re­spec­tively.

Duane Hue­ston, Judy Poole and Robyn Holmes were also granted their life mem­ber­ships on the night that cel­e­brated the end of a muchim­proved first sea­son un­der se­nior coach Guy Camp­bell, where ev­ery foot­ball and net­ball side qual­i­fied for fi­nals.

Run­ner-up league best and fairest Ber­ry­man won the A grade count from ris­ing star Remy Day. Bre­anna Bookham was voted in as the A grade play­ers’ player

Coura­geous cap­tain Phil Hub­bard was named run­ner-up, winger Bray­den Worsnop voted the most con­sis­tent player and gun for­ward Nic De­nahy the ris­ing star of the team.

Jor­dan God­frey took out the un­der 17s best and fairest, with Cur­tis Hayes run­ner-up.

Jes­sica David­son won 17-and-un­der net­ball best and fairest, Em­mer­son Simp­son run­ner-up. ■ MOAMA re­cently held its an­nual pre­sen­ta­tion night to cel­e­brate an­other strong sea­son in the black and white.

Jon and Joan Power were both awarded the club per­son of the year award, and Kyle Phipps re­ceived life mem­ber­ship with the club.

Rhys Ar­chard, as ex­pected, took home the se­nior best and fairest award,


river­ine­ with Luke Dunham run­ner-up as well as most valuable player.

Un­der 17s cap­tain Todd Murphy won his side’s best and fairest in the pre­mier­ship year, Jake Knee­bone fin­ish­ing run­ner-up.

The A grade net­ball pre­mier­ship­win­ning side named de­fender Ange Slat­tery as the best and fairest, coach Char­lotte Long fin­ish­ing as the run­ner-up.

Cap­tain Alex Daly took out the coach’s award.

And in the 17-and-un­der net­ball, Alan­nah Gil­more won the best and fairest from Olivia Tav­erna.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.