Cul­tural awards to be an­nounced

The Tatura Guardian - - News -

Win­ners of the bi­en­nial Cul­tural Her­itage Awards will be an­nounced on Satur­day, April 22.

The awards are held in con­junc­tion with the Greater Shep­par­tonHer­itage Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee and co­in­cide with Na­tional Her­itage Week.

Awards act­ing team leader Elke Cum­mins said the awards pro­moted the ben­e­fits of cul­tural her­itage preser­va­tion and high­lighted good-prac­tice ex­am­ples.

There are eight cat­e­gories of awards and the win­ners will be recog­nised through its guardian and un­der­tak­ers.

‘‘They in­clude build­ings, land­scapes, art­works, and they can in­clude in­tan­gi­ble cul­tural her­itage, so folk­lore, tra­di­tions, lan­guage and knowl­edge,’’ Ms Cum­mins said.

Nom­i­na­tions for the awards closed on De­cem­ber 9 last year and were as­sessed by a pro­fes­sional judg­ing panel us­ing the as­sess­ment cri­te­ria and con­di­tions con­tained within the Greater Shep­par­ton Cul­tural Her­itage Awards Guide­lines, 2016.

The high­est-scor­ing nom­i­na­tion in each cat­e­gory will be hon­oured at the awards night.

Help­ing hands: The Tatura Com­mu­nity House hosted the Rod­ney CWA women as part of its Help­ing Hand pro­gram last week. The women were as­sisted by Com­mu­nity House in­struc­tor Ver­ena Cur­ren who took them through the process of ap­ply­ing for a Work­ing with Chil­dren’s check. The women spent an en­joy­able af­ter­noon in the com­puter room, learn­ing how to tackle the tech­nol­ogy as well as com­plete the check form. Pic­tured is Jo Glover, Bev­er­ley McMa­hon, in­struc­tor Ver­ena Cur­ren, Melvie Darby, Beatrice Greaves, Ca­role Craik and Lyn Har­ri­son.

Ex­cited: Jenny Houli­han, Her­itage Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee chair Ge­off May­nard and Mayor Dinny Adem launched the 2017 Cul­tural Her­itage Awards in Au­gust last year. Nom­i­na­tions closed in De­cem­ber. Pic­ture: Julie Mercer

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.