Bas­ket­ball sea­son winds up

The Tatura Guardian - - Sport -


In the Tatura Bas­ket­ball As­so­ci­a­tion A-grade grand fi­nal, in-form Celtics, coached by Lisa Cul­lum, took on Bulls on Wed­nes­day night.

The play­ers from both teams were ac­tive in the first part of the game with Floyd Vinci­to­rio shoot­ing well for Bulls.

Celtics’ Kayde and Michael Coon­erty worked well in at­tack, with both goal­ing in quick suc­ces­sion.

Josh Evans used his height and re­bounded in both at­tack and de­fence and gained pos­ses­sion for his team on nu­mer­ous oc­ca­sions.

Bulls’ Blake Brewer and Ri­ley O’Neill cre­ated fast breaks to score and with seven min­utes left in the first half Bulls had edged ahead by seven points.

The pres­sure was ap­plied by both teams and foul in­fringe­ments were nu­mer­ous in the last part of the half, with nei­ther team able to cap­i­talise on the score­board.

Con­nor Ste­wart’s per­sis­tence paid off when he missed a bas­ket but re­bounded quickly to score to bring the mar­gin back to three at the half-time break in favour of Bulls.

The sec­ond half started at a fran­tic pace with both teams de­ter­mined to gain the ad­van­tage, but when Harry Mur­doch scored for the sec­ond time in as many min­utes, Celtics hit the lead for the first time in the game.

A long three-point shot by Michael Coon­erty put pres­sure back on Bulls, but Tom Doo­ley-Heath stead­ied to score to keep his team in touch.

Both teams con­tin­ued to score and des­per­a­tion saw way­ward at­tempts at three­p­oint shots when a time out was called by the coach.

The play­ers came out from this break with more de­lib­er­ate plays at the bas­ket.

Josh Evans was the dom­i­nant play­maker but Bulls pushed harder to score with Floyd Vinci­to­rio shoot­ing a long-range three-pointer to give his team the lead.

Quick play in at­tack saw Celtics level with one minute left on the clock and with a last minute where all play­ers gave it their all, Celtics surged to win by the nar­row­est of mar­gins.

Fi­nal score: Celtics 50 de­feated Bulls 49.

Celtics: Kayde Coon­erty (15 points) Michael Coon­erty (14) Josh Evans (13);

Bulls: Floyd Vinci­to­rio (17 points) Ri­ley O’Neill (14) Blake Brewer (11).

God­frey Fam­ily Medal win­ner for MVP in the grand fi­nal: Josh Evans (Celtics).

Sea­son MVP: Matthew Ren­nie.

Run­ner-up Brewer.

Equal-third MVP: Owen-Horn and Vinci­to­rio.

Coaches’ award: Ni­cholas Watt.

Most im­proved: Owen-Horn.

Tatura’s B and C-grade grand fi­nals were played last Mon­day night and the re­sults were as fol­lows:




Blake Jarom Floyd


The B-grade grand fi­nal was an ex­cit­ing and fast game to the end.

Bulls got off to a great start with the first few goals. Both teams played a fast and well ex­e­cuted game but the Bulls’ de­fence was un­de­ni­ably ef­fec­tive in keep­ing Celtics’ score down.

Jay­den McIl­roy, Tom Jones and Jack Ris­strom gave it their all and were the key scor­ers for Celtics.

Jack Leish­man, Zay­dyn Lock­wood and Sarah LangeRichards kept the pres­sure up as the key scor­ers for Bulls. Both teams played a fan­tas­tic game, with Bulls win­ning 55-44.

Bull Jack Leish­man won the Rijs Award for most valu­able player in the grand fi­nal.

Other award win­ners B-grade were:

Chelsea Coon­erty from War­riors won the en­cour­age­ment award;

Re­becca Valentin from Magic won most im­proved player;

Hay­ley Ren­nie from Magic won the coaches’ award.

Most valu­able player as voted by the ref­er­ees: Fifth: Joel Ash­burner-Hill, Zay­dyn Lock­wood, Re­becca Valentin, five votes; Fourth: Pa­trick Forster and Joel Bourke, six votes; Third; Kade Walker, 10 votes; Sec­ond: Jack Leish­man, 16 votes; First: Jay­den McIl­roy and Hay­ley Ren­nie, 23 votes.

— Ni­colle An­swer



The C-grade grand fi­nal saw Bulls de­feat Magic 24-20 to cap off a great sea­son.

Bulls played con­sis­tently through­out the whole sea­son to eas­ily po­si­tion them­selves as fi­nal con­tenders, ahead of Celtics and Heat.

Magic worked hard. Their sea­son was of steady im­prove­ment and de­ter­mi­na­tion to get them through the fi­nals to the big game on Mon­day night.

With vol­un­teers coach­ing, co-or­di­nat­ing and ar­rang­ing all that needed to be done, the sea­son fin­ished with a thrilling game that could have gone ei­ther way. It was Bulls’ strong per­sis­tence that al­lowed them to be vic­tors on the night.

Our high-cal­i­bre ref­er­ees make the com­pe­ti­tion in Tatura highly sought af­ter. A nur­tur­ing en­vi­ron­ment al­lows all from eight years of age to learn and grow their bas­ket­ball skills.

Award win­ners: Har­ris Fam­ily Medal for most valu­able player in the grand fi­nal: Cooper O’Neil. Most im­proved in the sea­son: De­clan Tyson. En­cour­age­ment award: Ti­ahn Ben­jamin. Coaches award as voted by coaches through­out the sea­son: Rob­bie Hamilton. Most valu­able player voted through­out sea­son by ref­er­ees: Fifth: Rob­bie Hamilton. Fourth: Mar­cus Perry. Third: Ryan Shal­ley. Sec­ond: Trent Ben­jamin. First: Cooper O’Neil. MVP fe­male: Jes­sica Ussher.

Thanks to all ref­er­ees. Your guid­ance and on­go­ing midgame train­ing of our young ones is greatly ap­pre­ci­ated. Special thanks to Maddi and Tom for help­ing out on grand fi­nal night.

Thanks to the scor­ers who step for­ward ev­ery week — es­pe­cially Ro­han. We ap­pre­ci­ate your weekly sup­port.

Thanks to vol­un­teer coaches who pass on the pas­sion for bas­ket­ball, in­clu­sion and great sports­man­ship to all our play­ers.

The next sea­son will be­gin in Fe­bru­ary 2018. Check school news­let­ters or our web­page for more in­for­ma­tion.

B-grade win­ners: Bulls play­ers Har­ri­son Leish­man, Charles Piercy, Zay­dyn Lock­wood, Jack Leish­man, Sarah Lange-Richards and coach Joe Vraca. Ab­sent Se­bas­tian Vraca.

A-grade pre­miers Celtics: Coach Lisa Cul­lum, Char­lie Mur­doch, Josh Evans, Michael Coon­erty, Con­nor Ste­wart, Kayde Coon­erty, Jack­son Palmer and Harry Mur­doch.

C/D-grade award win­ners: Rob­bie Hamilton, Ti­ahn Ben­jamin, Trent Ben­jamin, Jes­sica Ussher and Cooper O’Neilll. Ab­sent: De­clan Tyson.

B-grade in­di­vid­ual award win­ners: Hay­ley Ren­nie, Chelsea Coon­erty, Jack Leish­man, Jaiden McIl­roy and Zay­dyn Lock­wood. Ab­sent: Re­becca Valentin.

C-grade win­ners: Coach Jackie O’Neil, Reece But­ler, Cooper O’Neil, Isaac Field, Trent Ben­jamin, Cal­lum Hearn, Laryssa Do­herty and Matilda Healey.

A-grade tro­phies: Blake Brewer, Jarom Owen-Horn, Josh Evans, Michael Coon­erty and Ni­cholas Watt. Ab­sent: Matthew Ren­nie.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.