Spin doc­tor

The Weekend Australian - Review - - Music Reviews - Iain Shed­den

IT may seem a bit early to be talk­ing about songs of the year, but the Aus­tralasian Per­form­ing Right As­so­ci­a­tion doesn’t see it that way. This week the in­dus­try body, which rep­re­sents the in­ter­ests of Aus­tralian song­writ­ers and com­posers, is­sued a list of the 20 con­tenders for the pres­ti­gious APRA song of the year, which will be an­nounced along­side the other win­ners at this year’s APRA Awards, to be held in Bris­bane on June 23. It’s a rather im­pres­sive list, too, com­piled from Aus­tralian works re­leased dur­ing the past year. Smar­ty­pants Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and Boy & Bear some­how have landed two nods each, while there is room also for the Prea­tures, the Drones and John But­ler, among oth­ers. The full list of songs and the artists who per­formed them is as fol­lows. A Moat You Can Stand In — The Drones Alive — Em­pire of the Sun Avenger — The Bam­boos Bat­tle­ships — Bernard Fan­ning Bayini — Gur­ru­mul Yunupingu Cov­ered in Chrome — Vi­o­lent Soho Drop the Game — Flume and Chet Faker God Fear­ing — Sarah Blasko and the Slave Folk­lore Quar­tet Har­lequin Dream — Boy & Bear Is This How You Feel? — The Prea­tures Ju­bilee Street — Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds Lanterns — Birds of Tokyo Only One — John But­ler Trio Res­o­lu­tion — Matt Corby Rip Tide — Vance Joy South­ern Sun — Boy & Bear Steal the Light — The Cat Em­pire Un­der Your Skin — Dan Sul­tan We Are — Kar­nivool We No Who U R — Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

A fi­nal five will be re­vealed on May 29 along with nom­i­na­tions in all of the other APRA Awards cat­e­gories. ONE can­not help but be moved by the pow­er­ful video cre­ated by 10 of our most prom­i­nent fe­male singers for the I Touch My­self Project, an aware­ness pro­gram con­ceived by the Cancer Coun­cil to en­cour­age women to check for signs of breast cancer. Olivia New­ton-John, Me­gan Wash­ing­ton, Deb­o­rah Con­way and Sarah Blasko are among the women who have re-recorded the Divinyls’ I Touch My­self, orig­i­nally sung of course by Chrissy Am­phlett, who lost her life to cancer on April 21 last year. You can watch the video here: www.itouch­my­self.org.

Mean­while, Syd­ney’s Blen­der Gallery is en­ter­ing into the spirit of the aware­ness pro­gram by run­ning an ex­hi­bi­tion of Am­phlett pic­tures taken through­out her ca­reer by five leading pho­tog­ra­phers. The ex­hi­bi­tion runs un­til May 10. SD is get­ting quite ex­cited about the up­com­ing Lost on the River: The New Base­ment Tapes project, which fea­tures Elvis Costello, Mar­cus Mum­ford, Jim James from My Morn­ing Jacket, Tay­lor Gold­smith from Dawes and Carolina Choco­late Drops’ Rhi­an­non Gid­dens, all un­der the pro­duc­tion guid­ance of T Bone Bur­nett. This fine en­sem­ble has com­posed and recorded new mu­sic to ac­com­pany re­cently dis­cov­ered lyrics by Bob Dy­lan, writ­ten about the time of the orig­i­nal

Base­ment Tapes in 1967. The al­bum is due in the next few months we hear.

Boy & Bear are con­tenders for the APRA song of the year award

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.