Seven West lines up for awards

The West Australian - - NEWS - Liam Croy

Seven West Me­dia is likely to dom­i­nate this month’s WA Me­dia Awards, with al­most half the fi­nal­ists from the State’s big­gest me­dia out­let.

SWM is guar­an­teed at least four awards in cat­e­gories they have swept.

Two of the fi­nal­ists for best news pho­to­graph are Ian Munro and Danella Be­vis from The West Aus­tralian.

The third is Mary Mills from the Kal­go­or­lie Miner, the only daily re­gional news­pa­per in the SWM sta­ble.

Be­vis and Mills are also in the run­ning in the fea­ture pho­to­graphic es­say cat­e­gory, along with The West Aus­tralian’s Michael Wil­son for his shots of the Roe 8 protests.

Mills de­serves spe­cial men­tion for a third nom­i­na­tion — this time in the best com­mu­nity or re­gional news pho­tog­ra­phy cat­e­gory.

She joins Jon Gell­weiler from the South Western Times as a fi­nal­ist.

The three fi­nal­ists in the Gil­mour-Chris­tian Prize for best sports re­port are all from The West Aus­tralian — John Townsend, Nick Tay­lor and Steve But­ler.

Three col­leagues from The West Aus­tralian will vie for the Matt Price Award for WA’s best columnist — cricket writer Townsend, eco­nomics edi­tor Shane Wright and med­i­cal edi­tor Cathy O’Leary.

Chan­nel Seven re­porter Emily Baker is tipped to win the Eaves-Prior-Day Prize for best new jour­nal­ist or cadet.

SWM has pro­vided two of the three en­tries in the fi­nals of the hotly con­tested broad­cast cam­er­a­work cat­e­gory.

Gayle Adams, Ray Raab and Si­mon Hy­dzik all earned nom­i­na­tions for their work in the Gold­fields. Raab and Hy­dzik will be in di­rect com­pe­ti­tion with Chan­nel Nine’s Jes­sica Mio­ce­vich for their cov­er­age of the Kal­go­or­lie ri­ots.

Chan­nel Seven’s Monique Dirksz is a fi­nal­ist in the TV news story or fea­ture cat­e­gory for her re­port­ing on the ri­ots.

Joe Spag­nolo, John Flint and Regina Titelius have all earned nom­i­na­tions for their work in the Sun­day Times.

Spag­nolo is a fi­nal­ist in the po­lit­i­cal re­port cat­e­gory and the busi­ness re­port cat­e­gory, where he joins Peter Wil­liams from The West Aus­tralian.

SWM sub-edi­tors Paul Barry and David Cusworth will go head-to-head for the best head­lines gong. The West Aus­tralian State po­lit­i­cal re­porters Gary Ad­shead and Dy­lan Ca­porn are fi­nal­ists in the best news re­port cat­e­gory.

A team en­try by SWM for its cov­er­age of the State elec­tion is in line for the mul­ti­me­dia award. The win­ners will be an­nounced on Oc­to­ber 28.

Pic­ture: Mo­gens Johnansen

Award win­ner Leti­tia Bus­niak.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.