Lawry named best and fairest

Warragul & Drouin Gazette - - GAZETTE SPORT -

Stacey Lawry of War­ragul In­dus­tri­als won the bat­tle of the de­fend­ers to take out the EDNA A grade best and fairest award on Sunday night.

Stacey won with 35 votes ahead of fel­low de­fend­ers Sam Hodge of Ellinbank on 31 votes and Ni­cole Vam­plew of Poowong on 25 votes.

De­spite reg­u­larly be­ing amongst the top vote re­cip­i­ents, this is the first league best and fairest for Stacey.

It was a clean sweep for War­ragul In­dus­tri­als across the three se­nior grades, with de­fender Me­gan Spencer making it back-to-back league best and fairest tro­phies in B grade and mid­court player Caro­line Pur­cell tak­ing out the award in C grade.

Me­gan polled 29 votes to fin­ish ahead of run­ner-up Mia McGar­rity of Ellinbank with 25.

Caro­line won a tightly con­tested count with 26 votes ahead of Poowong’s Sally Wil­son on 25.

In the ju­nior count, Long­warry’s Paris Toner won the D grade tro­phy with 32 votes ahead of War­ragul In­dus­tri­als’ Abbey Com­madeur on 30.

Poowong’s Dal­las Loughridge was the run­away victor in E grade with 37 votes ahead of Long­warry’s Holly Stephens and War­ragul In­dus­tri­als’ Si­enna Green, both on 28.

It was an Ellinbank triple in F grade with Ava Gaul polling 41 votes ahead of team­mates Remy Ferguson and Ava McGar­rity both in 28 votes.

Ac­cept­ing tro­phies at the EDNA vote count are C grade best and fairest Caro­line Pur­cell (left) of War­ragul In­dus­tri­als and run­ner-up Sally Wil­son of Poowong.

War­ragul In­dus­tri­als’ Stacey Lawry (left) won her first A grade best and fairest ahead of run­ner-up Sam Hodge of Ellinbank.

Ellinbank’s Mia McGar­rity claimed run­nerup in the B grade league vote count. Ab­sent was winner Me­gan Spencer of War­ragul In­dus­tri­als.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.