Young rid­ers show met­tle in rain

Weekend Courier - - Sport -

MORE than 100 rid­ers took part in the Dog Hill cir­cuit in Baldivis on Satur­day.

The field in­cluded a num­ber of ju­niors from around WA, checking the course for the State Ju­nior Cham­pi­onships to be hosted by the Peel District Cy­cling Club in two weeks time.

The con­di­tions looked great for rac­ing – warm, sunny with light winds. This soon changed and af­ter a lit­tle more than two laps, the heav­ens opened.

Rid­ers got wet and cold quickly, but only a hand­ful with­drew.

With only two rid­ers, E-grade started with D-grade.

The pace in D-grade was fran­tic at the start. Deb Reid and Sally Carter were dropped, along with a num­ber of D-grade rid­ers.

Af­ter three laps and in pour­ing rain, Carter out­sprinted Reid to take the win.

The pace in D-grade eased a lit­tle af­ter the first lap, but fast enough that the dropped rid­ers could not get back on, and steady enough they did not lose any more rid­ers.

The pace picked up at the end of the fourth and fi­nal lap.

For­mer WA ju­nior track sprinter Hay­den Thorpe launched a dev­as­tat­ing at­tack to win, with Dan Field­house sec­ond and David Baker third.

C-grade con­tained the best un­der-15 men and un­der-17 women, pre­par­ing for the state ti­tles.

It was the older rid­ers who kept the pace up early in the race and chased the at­tacks down.

In the bunch sprint, it was an older rider, Michael White, who won, from un­der-17 women Dhar­lia Haines sec­ond and Laura Hodges third.

The un­der-17 men were the ag­gres­sors in B-grade and again the older rid­ers kept them in check.

In the bunch sprint, it was Ke­lana Saleh first, Ian Ferry sec­ond and third was the best-placed un­der-17 rider Oliver Bled­dyn.

A-grade was dom­i­nated by un­der-19 rid­ers.

Just as the rain hit, a group of four, with three un­der-19 men and a for­mer state Masters cri­terium cham­pion, gained a break and held it for more than two laps.

It took a con­certed ef­fort from rid­ers young and old to bring the break back with a lap to go.

In the chaotic bunch sprint, un­der-19 rider Bryce Lani­gan took the win, Ben Black­lock was sec­ond and Bernie Swart was third.

For the full re­sults, visit Nick Cowie

Pic­ture: Nick Cowie

Bryce Lani­gan takes A- grade hon­ours.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.