UWA joint win­ners

Western Suburbs Weekly - - Health -

UWA re­searchers have shared the ti­tle of Sci­en­tist of the Year at the 16th Pre­mier’s Science Awards.

Pro­fes­sor Har­vey Mil­lar, cen­tre di­rec­tor for the Aus­tralian Re­search Coun­cil Cen­tre of Ex­cel­lence in Plant En­ergy Bi­ol­ogy, and Chris­to­bel Saun­ders, a Pro­fes­sor of Sur­gi­cal On­col­ogy, were an­nounced joint win­ners.

Prof Mil­lar is an award-win­ning leader in plant science re­search.

His fo­cus has been on the func­tion of pro­teins that en­hance the en­ergy ef­fi­ciency of plants in harsh en­vi­ron­ments.

Prof Saun­ders is a con­sul­tant sur­geon at Royal Perth, St John of God and Fiona Stan­ley hos­pi­tals, and Pro­fes­sor of Sur­gi­cal On­col­ogy at UWA. She is a leader in sur­gi­cal prac­tice and cancer re­search in Aus­tralia and in­ter­na­tion­ally.

Also among the win­ners was Wem­b­ley res­i­dent Asha Bowen, who claimed the Early Ca­reer Sci­en­tist of the Year award.

Dr Bowen is a re­searcher at the Telethon Kids In­sti­tute and pae­di­atric in­fec­tious dis­eases spe­cial­ist at Princess Mar­garet Hos­pi­tal.

PHD can­di­date David Goz­zard was named Stu­dent Sci­en­tist of the Year.

The Wem­b­ley Downs res­i­dent is com­plet­ing a PHD in ex­per­i­men­tal physics.

His re­search is de­scribed as “de­vel­op­ing sta­bilised trans­mis­sion sys­tems to send atomic clock sig­nals over long dis­tances with im­proved pre­ci­sion”.

The Fog­a­rty Foun­da­tion’s Coder­dojo WA, an open-source net­work of free and so­cial com­puter pro­gram­ming clubs for young peo­ple aged seven to 17, won the Science En­gage­ment Ini­tia­tive of the Year.

UWA Emer­i­tus Pro­fes­sor John Pate was in­ducted into the 2017 WA Science Hall of Fame for his con­tri­bu­tion to plant science.

The awards were de­cided by a judg­ing panel led by WA’S Chief Sci­en­tist, Pro­fes­sor Peter Klinken.

Joint 2017 Sci­en­tists of the Year, Pro­fes­sor Har­vey Mil­lar and Rene Van Meeuwen – rep­re­sent­ing Pro­fes­sor Chris­to­bel Saun­ders – with Pre­mier Mark Mcgowan.

Pro­fes­sor Chris­to­bel Saun­ders.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.