Lo­cal ladies ex­cel at open

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -


WITH per­fect weather and the course in pris­tine con­di­tion, fan­tas­tic re­sults were achieved by the home club when the Proser­pine ladies open was held last week.

The gross win­ners were Ann Fen­ton on 85 (A grade), Jenny Houn­sell on 86 (B grade), Di Dob­bins on 98 (B2 grade) and Tessa Aitken on 102 (C grade).

Gross run­ners-up were Tr­ish Mc­Neill on 86 (A grade), Maryanne Har­ri­gan on 94 (B grade), Maisy Fog­a­rty on 100 (B2 grade) and MCamp­bell on 109 (C grade).

The net win­ners were Yvonne Mal­lory on 74 (A grade), Ce­cily Meng on 75 (B grade), Anna Win­ter­bourn on 76 (B2 grade) and Tina Baden­horst on 73 (C grade).

The run­ners-up were L Chap­man on 75 (A grade), Cheryl Scown on 76 (B grade), Pa­tri­cia Young on 78 (B2 grade) and Beryl Nos­wor­thy on 78 (C grade).

The 70 years and over com­pe­ti­tion was won by Viv De­mar­tini and Bessie Simpson.

Near­est-the-pins were Ann Fen­ton on hole 2, Tr­ish Mc­Neill on 16 (A grade), Jenny Houn­sell on 5, Maryann Har­ri­gan on 17 (B1 grade), Ron­nie Dempsey on 6 (B2 grade), Ann Trigg on 9 and Judy Visentin on 18 (C grade).

The ladies with the least putts for the day were Yvonne Mal­lory on 26 (A grade), Jenny Houn­sell on 27 (B grade), Di Dob­bins on 28 (B1 grade) and Guus Her­mans on 28 (C grade).

The long­est drives came from Tr­ish Mc­Neill in A grade and Tina Baden­horst in C grade.

A hid­den part­ner sta­ble­ford was cho­sen by Brenda Cowan for her tro­phy day held last Wed­nes­day.

Lyn Muller and Guus Her­mans were the win­ners with 65 points while Paula Wron­ski and Mar­lene Gray were sec­ond on 64.

Mandy Pater­son and Ali­son Day were third ahead of Ber­nice Petersen and Tessa Aitken and Ti­ina Rand­mae and Mary Tay­lor.

Near­est-the-pin win­ners for the 0-25 hand­i­cap on hole 5 was Lyn Muller.

Ti­ina Rand­mae won on hole 13 for the 25-45 hand­i­cap, Mandy Pater­son won on 2 and Mar­lene Gray was clos­est on 18.

LEAD­ING LADIES: Ann Fen­ton, Anna Win­ter­bourn, Beryl Nos­wor­thy, Michelle Camp­bell, Tessa Aitken, Di Dob­bins, Tina Baden­horst, Yvonne Mal­lory, Ce­cily Meng, Jenny Houn­sell and Tr­ish Mc­Neill were win­ners at the ladies' open.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.