Red team wins in fi­nal round of Pres­i­dent’s Cup

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -

WHIT­SUN­DAY golfers played the fi­nal com­pe­ti­tion of the year last Sun­day.

Breezes made for some way­ward balls but ri­valry was very keen for the last com­pe­ti­tion and the fi­nal round of the Pres­i­dent Cup.

Mem­bers also played a sin­gle stroke com­pe­ti­tion with Ron Jamieson win­ning A grade on nett 71 ahead of Scotty Wardroper on 76.

Ross Richards had the best gross score.

B grade was won by Brad Bowring on nett 66 ahead of Rob Webb on 74 while Mick Ca­ton had the best gross score.

Reg Kercher won C grade on nett 79, seven clear or Ian Giles on 86 and Jac­qui Wall had the best gross score.

Long­est drives came from Mick Cooper (A grade), Brad Bowring (B grade) and Ti­ina Rand­mae (ladies).

Near­est-the-pins in A/B grade were Mal Carter on hole 2, Brad Ham­mond on 9 and Scotty Wardroper on 13.

C grade near­est-the-pins was Reg Kercher on 13 and 16 and for the ladies it was Linda Wardroper on hole 9 and Anna Win­ter­bourn on 13 and 16.

The Pres­i­dent’s Cup teams played sin­gle stroke match play

For the Reds Wayne Temby beat Ross Richards, 1 up, Ernie Hol­stein beat Kerry Hall, 1 up, Ron Jamieson beat Bren­don Me­harry 5 up

Kym Hill beat Jac­qui Wall, 1 up and Scotty Wardroper beat Mick Ca­ton, 4 up.

For the Blues Dean Kercher beat Linda Wardroper, 3 up and Ti­ina Rand­mae beat Brad Ham­mond, 2 up while Reg Kercher and Peter Brown­ing were all square with no play­off.

Each win earned one point, the Reds won 5 points on the day, the Blues won 2, bring­ing the fi­nal to­tals to Reds 9 ½ de­feat­ing the Blues 7 ½.

This brings the com­pe­ti­tion sea­son to an end.

So­cial play will con­tinue un­til the new sea­son starts in Fe­bru­ary.

Whit­sun­day golfers will cel­e­brate the end of the sea­son at their an­nual pre­sen­ta­tion and Christ­mas party this Satur­day, De­cem­ber 14 in the Reef Room at the Reef Gate­way Ho­tel at 6pm.

TOP TEAM: The Whit­sun­day Golf red team Mark Ni­col, Ernie Hol­stein, Reg Kercher, Kym Hill, Ron Jamieson, Brad Ham­mond and Wayne Temby af­ter win­ning the pres­i­dent's cup.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.