Squash cham­pi­ons crowned

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -

TEAM 1 has claimed a tense Air­lie Squash grand fi­nal by the skin of its teeth.

The squash de­cider took place on Tues­day morn­ing, with Team 1 crowned cham­pi­ons over Team 2 – how­ever it took a nerve- wrack­ing count­back to de­ter­mine the cham­pi­ons.

Both teams won three matches each; how­ever Team 1 won 13 games to nine to be crowned win­ners.

Leah McKel­lan (play­ing for Cather­ine Mau) won her en­counter with Bec Smith 3/27-0/10 while Mark Maloney de­feated Mar­garet McPher­son 3/28-0/15.

Lyn Muller took out Nicki Mur­ray 3/27-0/2 and Belinda Faust com­fort­ably ousted Di Law 3/27-0/13.

The two matches of the day went to five sets, with Lauren Payne claim­ing a grip­ping con­test against Di O’Don­nell 3/42-2/ 29.

Brenda Cowan won her match against San­dra Wat­son de­spite win­ning fewer points over­all, tri­umph­ing 3/31-2/33.

Team 3 was awarded the wooden spoon at pre­sen­ta­tions af­ter Tues­day’s round of matches.

Lucy Pep­per took the points over Robyn Heiniger 3/27-0/10.

Aimee Mitchell cruised to a 3/ 27-0/13 win over Tiani Pauly and Judy Hughes ac­counted for Tiani Pauly (play­ing for An­drea Mitchell) 3/28-0/16.

Robyn Nixon edged out Chris Fuller (play­ing for Mar­ian Church­ward) 3/30-1/22 while Alex Ogilvie-Knight took care of Deb­bie Brown 3/29-0/21.

Jenny Mo­ranino and Joy Vi­tanza en­joyed a fierce bat­tle, with the for­mer tak­ing the points in a thrilling five sets.

Mo­ranino won 3/32-2/25.

TRI­UMPHANT: Leah McKel­lan, San­dra Wat­son, Lyn Muller, Marj Maloney, Di O’Don­nell and Cather­ine Mau cel­e­brate af­ter win­ning the mi­nor and ma­jor pre­mier­ships. (ab­sent Di Law).

WOODEN SPOON: Jenny Mo­ranino, Alex Ogilvie-Knight, Aimee Mitchell, Mar­ian Church­ward, Judy Hughes and Robyn Heiniger showoff their prize for fin­ish­ing last.

SEC­OND BEST: Nicki Mur­ray, Belinda Faust, Mar­garet McPher­son and Brenda Cowan of Team 2 were run­ners-up in this year's Air­lie Squash sea­son. (ab­sent – Lauren Payne and Bec Smith).

DED­I­CATED: Lyn Muller took out the prize for most rub­bers.

STAR: Belinda Faust won the award for win­ning the most points and games in this sea­son's Air­lie Squash fix­tures.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.