Change of com­mit­tee for Sail­ing Club

Whitsunday Times - - ON THE WATER -

THE Whit­sun­day Sail­ing Club has a freshly con­fig­ured crew at its helm fol­low­ing Sun­day’s An­nual Gen­eral Meet­ing (AGM).

The meet­ing, which was well at­tended, in­cluded the elec­tion of new board mem­bers and flag of­fi­cers for the year ahead.

Long-time mem­ber and im­me­di­ate past Com­modore, Jim Hayes has been elected as the club’s new pres­i­dent.

Mr Hayes takes over from im­me­di­ate past pres­i­dent Bill Mairs.

Tak­ing on the Com­modore’s role is Bernie van’t Hof.

Mr van’t Hof will be sup­ported by Rear Off­shore Com­modore Kevin Fog­a­rty and Rear Off­beach Com­modore Luke Mairs.

The new direc­tors of the club are Tim Parker, Greg Ham­mon, David How­ells, Dun­can Smith and Mur­ray San­ders.

Mr Hayes said he wel­comed the new com­mit­tee and hoped the next year would be a pos­i­tive one for the sail­ing club.

“I’m con­fi­dent the next year will be a pos­i­tive one for the club with an em­pha­sis on ev­ery­one work­ing to­gether to achieve the best out­comes for all of our mem­bers,” he said.

“[And] I thank the re­tir­ing board mem­bers for their hard work and in­put dur­ing their time in of­fice.”

NEW COM­MIT­TEE: Whit­sun­day Sail­ing Club sec­re­tary Leonie Matthews, with newly ex­ec­u­tive board mem­bers Tim Parker, Bernie van’t Hof, Greg Ham­mon, Bill and Luke Mairs (back) and David How­ell, Mur­ray San­ders, Kevin Fog­a­rty, Dun­can Smith and Jim Hayes (front) after Sun­day's AGM.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.