WFC ac­knowl­edges 2014 sea­son’s best per­form­ers

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -


THE Whit­sun­day Foot­ball Club wrapped up its 2014 sea­son at the week­end, host­ing the pre­sen­ta­tion night for all grades.

The Whit­sun­day PCYC hosted the premier men, premier women, re­serves and MCL teams on Satur­day night, where close to 100 peo­ple at­tended.

Goal-keeper Luke Nightin­gale capped a mem­o­rable sea­son with the premier men’s Best and Fairest while Rosalie Tay­lor won the women’s equiv­a­lent.

The re­serves ti­tle was shared be­tween Michael Lee and Mitchell Clarke while Hamish Woods was an­nounced as the MCL’s best.

Nightin­gale (Goal-keeper of the Year) and fel­low premier men’s star Jar­rod Lee (Player of the Year) were also recog­nised at the Mackay Re­gional Foot­ball Zone’s (MRFZ) awards ear­lier this month, and of­fi­cially pre­sented with their re­spec­tive hon­ours on Satur­day by league pres­i­dent Scott Mealy.

“I feel pretty good, I wanted to match it with the best,” Lee said on Satur­day night.

“My goal was to win it three times like Mark Durelli did. Hope­fully I can make it four.”

Durelli re­ceived the MRFZ’s top hon­our in 1993, ’94 and ’95 while Lee has his name on the Ken Lorimer Medal in 2011, ’13 and ’14.

Lee was hope­ful the premier men would take the next step and win a premier­ship after two suc­ces­sive grand fi­nal ap­pear­ances.

“I thought we did re­ally well. We had no im- ports in our team, they’re all lo­cals,” he said.

“If we can get some good im­ports we’ll be tip top...hope­fully next year we can take out the grand fi­nal too.”

Lee still main­tains his dream of play­ing foot­ball at the pro­fes­sional level.

FINE FORM: Luke Nightin­gale, Mackay Re­gional Foot­ball Zone pres­i­dent Scott Mealy and Jar­rod Lee. Nightin­gale and Lee of­fi­cially re­ceived their awards for MRFZ's goal­keeper and player of the year on Satur­day night.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.