A-grade pairs win for Bell, McMa­hon

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -

Andy Bell and Bob McMa­hon have teamed up to win this year’s Air­lie Beach Bowls Club A-grade pairs com­pe­ti­tion.

The dy­namic duo de­feated Peter Law­ton and Steve Tat­tam 24-17 on Sun­day to win the crown for 2015.

On the same day Kevin Jewell eclipsed Bob McMa­hon 25-21 to ad­vance to the next round of the A-grade sin­gles com­pe­ti­tion.

Man Is­gro also pro­gressed fol­low­ing a for­feit.

In pen­nants play, all three di­vi­sion three teams won on Satur­day with the fi­nal score read­ing 92-40.

Mean­while, Tues­day’s ladies ses­sion saw Tess Walker and Jo Howes de­feat Mar­garet Heeney and Lane Telford 20-15 while Henny Tat­tam, Jill Spencer and Elaine Had­low got the bet­ter of Jenny Ry­der, Regina Aqualina and Margo Stan­ley 25-21.

Men’s jack­pot Wed­nes­day proved fruit­ful for Herb Se- comb, Nik Fern­bach and Peter Law­ton, who edged out Herb Se­comb, Terry San­ders and David Zim­mer­man with a score of 22-21.

Bruce Pur­die, Dom Sposato and Steve Tat­tam knocked over Paul Os­borne, John Stadek and Barry Zill­man 31-9.

Jim Cairns, Gus Fer­liano and Col Howes had the last laugh over Wally Gray, David Stock and Steve Wil­ton 24-18.

In so­cial play on Sun­day, Jo Howes, Col Howes and Ben Howes won over Nik Fern­bach, Jenny Ry­der and Derek Brown 24-23 while Elaine Had­low and Lada Pur­die were forced to share the spoils with John Bye and Dom Sposato af­ter their match fin­ished in a draw.

Jill Spencer, Paul Os­borne and Wally Gray knocked over Terry San­ders, Mae Se­comb and Bruce Pur­die 25-19 and Margo Stan­ley, Mar­lene Orr and War­ren Barry out­lasted David Orr, Ron Reimers and Con­nie Wilkin­son 24-16.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.