Record field for XXXX Day

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -

A record field of 94 play­ers at­tended last Fri­day’s an­nual XXXX Day, with su­perb weather con­di­tions mak­ing for a great day on the course.

Win­ners of the three-ball am­brose com­pe­ti­tion were Rob and Shelli Stan­ley and Wayne Rus­sell (54.33) ahead of Vic Feld­man, Jim Dowell and Chris Hen­der­son (56).

Near­est-the-pins went to Bob Hin­schen (No. 9), Rob Stan­ley (13) and Mick Simp­son (16).

Last Satur­day, 39 men and 11 women con­tested the Ho­tel Metropole Sta­ble­ford where Gavin Ker­wand won from Dave Gates (both on 40). The run­down in­cluded Mick Leo, Paul Joice, Ross McNeill, John Dodds and Vic Feld­man (39), Ross Richards, Barry Mor­timer (38) and Ken Wyl­lie (36). El­speth Scot­ford (34) won the ladies’ com­pe­ti­tion from Paula Wron­ski (31) and Caro­line Awdry (30). Near­est-the-pins went to Mark Ras­mussen (No. 2), Lance Lloyd, El­speth Scot­ford (9), Peter Krause (13) and Vic Feld­man (16).

A mag­nif­i­cent nett score of 57, six shots un­der course par, saw Nick Apruzzese win the di­vi­sion two stroke event last Thurs­day, as well as tak­ing out the nine-hole com­pe­ti­tion with 29.5.

Di­vi­sion one was won by re­cently re­tired green­keeper John Grosskreutz, who won on count­back from run­ner-up Glen McKer­ley (66), Perri Simp­son (68), Wayne Temby (69) and Troy Hayes (70). An­drew Al­bergo was run­ner-up in di­vi­sion two, beat­ing Robb Webb (68).

The run­ner-up in the nine-hole com­pe­ti­tion was Wayne Rus­sell (32.5) ahead of Glen McKer­ley (33), Rob Webb (33.5) and An­drew Al­bergo (34). Near­est-the-pins went to Rob Stan­ley (No. 2), Chris Brett (9), Peter Stone (13) and Perri Simp­son (16).

On Satur­day play­ers will con­test a four-ball best ball ag­gre­gate and sin­gle sta­ble­ford events.


Lu­cas Cre­tan won the nett and gross prizes for the three-hole com­pe­ti­tion while Lo­gan Dev­ery and Rian Mitchell also im­pressed. Jack Val­madre claimed both ti­tles in the six-hole field, fin­ish­ing ahead of Isobelle Kraatz, Ta­yarn Bart­ley-Looke and Jaxon Hen­der­sen-Feld­man for the nett prize.

The nine-hole gross ti­tle went to Levi Holmes while Jack Rai­teri was the nett cham­pion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.