Gary God­dard ex­cels in Sta­ble­ford Cham­pi­onship

Whitsunday Times - - SPORT -

Golfers played their Sta­ble­ford Cham­pi­onship on Sun­day in near-per­fect con­di­tions.

Scor­ing was close in all grades, with new­comer Gary God­dard sweep­ing the board, claim­ing a long­est drive and two near­est-the-pins, and win­ning the men’s B-grade ti­tle. All this came just af­ter he com­pleted his third card for hand­i­cap­ping.

Donny Hope was the men’s A-grade win­ner with 36points, while Kym Hill was run­ner-up on 35.

Mick Ca­ton fin­ished the di­vi­sion in third place hav­ing carded 33, while Ross Richards hit the long­est drive.

Sec­ond to God­dard in the B-grade run­down was Brad Ham­mond on 35-points, fol­lowed by Mal Carter (32).

The ladies’ win­ner on the day was Pauline Red­path, who carved out a great score of 38.

Ti­ina Rand­mae fin­ished sec­ond on 37, fol­lowed by Reg Kercher (36).

Long­est drives for the ladies went to Pam Casey and Pam Kercher.

Near­est-the-pins went to God­dard on no. 9 and 13, while Mick Ca­ton (2), Reg Kercher (2) and Wilf Her­weg (16) were also among the win­ners.

On Sun­day, the first round of the Kerry Hall Me­mo­rial Chal­lenge Tro­phy will be played. Kerry passed away more than three months ago and is re­mem­bered as the Whit­sun­day Golf Club’s long­est serv­ing pres­i­dent, hav­ing ful­filled the role for more than 20 years.

The club stal­wart was in­stru­men­tal in the de­vel­op­ment of the club and will fit­tingly be re­mem­bered through a multi-round cham­pi­onship.

The match-play for­mat will see two teams of 24 drawn to do bat­tle.

Play­ers must fa­mil­iarise them­selves with match play rules and or­gan­ise their play­ing groups within the team se­lec­tion. On Sun­day, Au­gust 23, round two – a two-ball am­brose com­pe­ti­tion – will be held at the Proser­pine Golf Club.

WIN­NERS ARE GRINNERS: Whit­sun­day Golf B-grade run­ner-up Brad Ham­mond, ladies run­ner-up Ti­ina Rand­mae, A-grade win­ner Donny Hope, ladies win­ner Pauline Red­path and A-grade run­ner-up Kym Hill. Ab­sent: B-grade win­ner Gary God­dard.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.