Take con­trol of the pri­vacy set­tings in Face­book

Your guide Alex Cox says… “Face­book is great for shar­ing, but it’s easy to over­share – it’s time to con­trol who sees what”

Windows 7 Help & Advice - - CONTENTS -

There’s a good rea­son Face­book is the most pop­u­lar so­cial net­work in the western world. It’s easy to join, easy to con­nect with your friends, and in­cred­i­bly con­ve­nient – if you want to share some­thing, it’s only a cou­ple of clicks away. But is that re­ally such a good thing? Do you want every one of your friends to see every lit­tle thing you post? Should any­body that stum­bles on your pro­file be al­lowed to poke through your fam­ily pic­tures or find out your per­sonal in­for­ma­tion? Ab­so­lutely not.

Face­book doesn’t ex­actly hide its pri­vacy fea­tures, but it doesn’t push them ei­ther. It’s up to you to de­cide how se­cure you want your ac­count and posts to be. We’ll walk you through the steps and safe­guards; use your own judge­ment over how much you want to put in place, to en­sure the peo­ple that mat­ter can still see your posts and pro­file.

Ac­count pro­tec­tion Use the ‘Se­cu­rity and lo­gin’ sec­tion to lock your ac­count and so pre­vent un­wanted in­tru­sion. Get un­friendly Un­so­licited re­quests from peo­ple you don’t re­ally know can be un­set­tling – block them in the Pri­vacy sec­tion. re­view your tags See what friends are post­ing about you by ac­ti­vat­ing ‘tag re­view­ing’ un­der the ‘Time­line and tag­ging’ op­tion. Block and mute Re­move every nui­sance, from trou­ble­some friends to an­noy­ing app re­quests, in the Block­ing sec­tion. Backup now Even if you’re not con­cerned about se­cu­rity, you may want to keep a copy of your ac­count data in case of disaster.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.