High­est honour to five Ro­tar­i­ans

Yarrawonga Chronicle - - Front Page -

Paul Har­ris Fel­low Awards, Ro­tary’s high­est honour, pre­sented to five lo­cal Ro­tar­i­ans was a high­light of the changeover din­ner of the Ro­tary Club of Yar­ra­wonga-Mul­wala on July 2.

The changeover cel­e­bra­tion held at Clubmul­wala was at­tended by 90 Ro­tar­i­ans and guests that in­cluded Ro­tary DG Elect Brian Peters, PDG Bernie Bott and Mar­garet, As­sis­tant DG Sally Mathe­son, Frank and El­iz­a­beth Di Maria, Doug and Di Rankin (Yar­ra­wonga Lions), Alice Reid, John El­lis and Joan Mckel­lar (Lake Mul­wala Com­bined Probus), Heather Tribe (Mixed Probus).

Pre­sent­ing the Paul Har­ris Fel­low Awards, Veron­ica McNaught, leader of the club’s Ro­tary Foun­da­tion Com­mit­tee said most Ro­tary clubs raise funds through the ef­forts of their mem­bers to sup­port char­i­ta­ble projects lo­cally, na­tion­ally and in­ter­na­tion­ally.

Ro­tary Yar­ra­wonga-Mul­wala makes a sub­stan­tial con­tri­bu­tion, each year, to Ro­tary Foun­da­tion which pro­vides fund­ing to clubs through­out the world, sup­port­ing im­proved liv­ing con­di­tions, in­creased food pro­duc­tion, bet­ter ed­u­ca­tion, wider avail­abil­ity of treat­ment and re­ha­bil­i­ta­tion for the sick and dis­abled, new chan­nels for the flow of in­ter­na­tional un­der­stand­ing, and brighter hopes for peace through­out the world.

In re­turn, the Ro­tary Foun­da­tion of­fers a num­ber of Paul Har­ris Fel­low Awards, for pre­sen­ta­tion to mem­bers of the club, or of our com­mu­nity, who have made an out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tion to the ideals of Ro­tary In­ter­na­tional.

“A world of peace and good­will has come a lit­tle closer by the con­tri­bu­tions made by tonight’s in­ductees,” Veron­ica said.

John Tay­lor spoke about the breadth of work un­der­taken by Ro­tar­i­ans who re­ceive PHF awards and in­tro­duced the Paul Har­ris Fel­low Award re­cip­i­ents – Peter Ben­nett and Dianne Evans and three PHF Mem­bers who con­tinue to make spe­cial con­tri­bu­tions to the club’s on­go­ing pro­grams were fur­ther recog­nised by the ad­di­tion of a sap­phire to their pre­vi­ously awarded PHF – Ian Fe­bey, 2nd Sap­phire, Rob Wal­lace, 2nd Sap­phire, Ross Lloyd, 3rd Sap­phire.


Mem­bers and guests from other ser­vice or­gan­i­sa­tions ap­plauded the re­port from out­go­ing Pres­i­dent Cate Fe­bey.

Cate’s year in of­fice in­cluded the Club run­ning the highly suc­cess­ful Dis­trict Con­fer­ence, or­gan­ised by Ro­tar­ian Ross Lloyd. Bernie Bott from the Club was Dis­trict Gov­er­nor for the year and was a great rep­re­sen­ta­tive for the Club both in the Dis­trict and over­seas.

For the first time in many years the Club has had in­com­ing and out­go­ing youth ex­change stu­dents, an ex­cit­ing pro­gram with more stu­dents to take part this year. Hosts of these stu­dents were warmly thanked by Cate. The Club has as usual sup­ported many in­ter­na­tional and com­mu­nity projects, par­tic­u­larly in the area of youth.

Cate then in­ducted new Pres­i­dent Joe Cilia and Joe in­tro­duced his Board for the year. Ro­tary In­ter­na­tional has cho­sen ‘Be in­spi­ra­tional’ for this year’s motto and Joe spoke also of his per­sonal aims – com­mu­nity, mem­ber­ship and fellowship.

“The Club looks for­ward to build­ing on our achieve­ments from last year and wel­comes com­mu­nity minded peo­ple to be­come mem­bers,” Joe said.

Out­go­ing Pres­i­dent Cate Fe­bey (left), in­stalls and presents the col­lar of of­fice to Joe Cilia who will lead the Ro­tary Club of Yar­ra­wonga-Mul­wala, 2018/19 pic­tured with Joe’s wife Roi­son.

Paul Har­ris Fel­low Award re­cip­i­ents L-R Rob Wal­lace, Ian Fe­bey, Dianne Evans, Ross Lloyd, Peter Ben­nett.

Mem­bers of the board that will lead the Ro­tary Club of Yar­ra­wonga Mul­wala in 2018/19, L to R – Ian Bar­ton, Joe Cilia (Pres­i­dent), Ron Ken­nett (Trea­surer), Cate Fe­bey, Rob Wal­lace, Jenni Murch, Peter Ben­nett, Bernie Bott, John Tay­lor, Garry Tribe, Ab­sent Michael Shad­wick (Sec­re­tary).

Ian Bar­ton (left) is pre­sented with Yarra­wonga­Mul­wala Ro­tary Clubs’ pres­ti­gious Fred Hae­bich Award by Ro­tar­ian Ian Fe­bey (last year’s win­ner). This award is in me­mory of the late Fred Hae­bich (snr) who gave many years of out­stand­ing ser­vice to Ro­tary. Win­ner of the award is de­cided on the votes of club­mem­bers for the Ro­tar­ian they con­sider gave ex­cep­tional ser­vice to Ro­tary dur­ing the year.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.