Mul­wala’s ef­forts recog­nised

Yarrawonga Chronicle - - Classies -

Mul­wala Foot­ball Net­ball Club have cel­e­brated a fan­tas­tic 2018 sea­son in style with their an­nual Pre­sen­ta­tion Night held at Club Mul­wala.

In front of a huge crowd, the night kicked off with the C Re­serve vote count that was tightly con­tested. The vet­eran in Kim Thom­son edged out young gun Dee Moon by only a hand­ful of votes.

The coaches award and third place went to Mad­die Cook­sley, an­other young su­per­star in the mak­ing. The C grade best and fairest was also a closely fought con­test with Kathyrn Mad­dox emerg­ing vic­to­ri­ous with a tremen­dous back half of the year.

Sam Till who was run­ner up in the league medal came in sec­ond with Bre­anna Ma­gro not far be­hind in third.

The B Grade vote was some­what of a blow out with Mor­gan Pitches suc­cess­ful with votes in nearly ev­ery game.

With a super young team, sec­ond place went to Te­gan Pan­ter, a player ca­pa­ble of play­ing in ev­ery po­si­tion. Emme Shand a pop­u­lar win­ner of the coach’s award.

Cap­ping off the net­ball awards was the A grade vote count which saw Steph Beams win for what has ba­si­cally been a decade of dom­i­nance.

Grace Thom­son’s ver­sa­til­ity also saw her poll well and fin­ished in sec­ond. The coaches award was pre­sented to Brodie Pfeifer whose en­ergy and en­thu­si­asm is a real as­set for the club.

Coaches Casey Parker and Cara Wood made a fan­tas­tic speech with Parker high­light­ing the tremen­dous growth of younger play­ers in re­cent years to pro­vide a plat­form for the next pre­mier­ship tilt.

The Re­serves Best and Fairest was won by Tom Dow who had dom­i­nated in only 10 re­serves games. Dy­lan Scott was a wor­thy run­ner up in a sea­son where he also played a sev­eral se­nior games.

Robert Wil­son, the dy­namic young­ster was third and was awarded Most Con­sis­tent whilst Nathan Beasley was pre­sented with the Best Util­ity award after a sea­son spent shift­ing from one end of the ground to the other.

Lastly Corey Lind­say was a pop­u­lar choice for the coaches award with his ded­i­ca­tion and com­mit­ment un­ques­tion­able whilst Ricky Walker was a stand­out for most im­proved.

The se­niors was eas­ily the most fas­ci­nat­ing in re­cent mem­ory.

Five play­ers went into the last round with a chance to win.

In­cred­i­bly it was Jack­son Gash, the young Cap­tain, he dom­i­nated from the half­way mark of the sea­son to col­lect a mas­sive 126 votes.

Kayla Beams was on hand to present the Phillip Beams Medal, named in honor of her late Dad.

Jack­son spoke won­der­fully and was warmly ap­plauded for his hon­esty and hu­mil­ity.

Sec­ond was the classy Beau Clarke on 116, who had also missed games with a ham­string in­jury.

Third was ev­ery­one’s fa­vorite red head, Dy­lan Robin­son on 99 votes.

Coaches Award was ac­tu­ally awarded at round 3, such was the out­stand­ing qual­i­ties shown by Brad Wil­son.

Harry Cross­ley was an­other to ac­cept an award with a lengthy speech about his love for all things Mul­wala.

With Coach Ja­son San­der­son signed and en­thu­si­as­tic for sea­son 2018, the award win­ners all spoke about their ea­ger­ness to re­turn next year ready to take the club to the next level.

San­der­son is a real Club Per­son who’s fo­cus has been clearly about de­vel­op­ing cul­ture and pro­mot­ing younger play­ers. Hope­fully this fo­cus will stand the club in good stead for the com­ing sea­son.

The Mul­wala Lions hope to see you all next year.

Fa­ther and son Jar­ryd and Robert Wil­son who played to­gether in the re­serves this year.

C Re­serve win­ners: Coaches Award - Mad­die Cook­sey, Coach - Sally Lu­cas, Run­ner Up - De­la­nee Moon, Best and Fairest - Kim Thomp­son – Ab­sent.

C Grade win­ners: Most De­ter­mined - Bri­anna Ma­gro, Run­ner Up - Sami Till, Coach - Rhonda Ma­gro

Re­serves win­ners: Best and Fairest - Tom Dow, Run­ner Up - Dy­lan Scott, Most Con­sis­tent - Robert Wil­son, Most De­ter­mined - Nathan Beasley, Most Im­proved - Ricky Walker, Coaches Award - Tippa Lind­say.

Se­niors win­ners: Best and Fairest - Jack­son Gash, Run­ner Up - Beau Clarke, Best Util­ity Player - Dy­lan Robin­son, Most Im­proved - Harry Cross­ley, Coaches Award - Brad Wil­son.

A Grade win­ners: Best and Fairest - Stephanie Ham­mond, Most Im­proved - Brodie Pfeif­fer, Run­ner Up - Grace Thom­son- Ab­sent.

B Grade win­ners: Best and Fairest - Mor­gan Pitches, Run­ner Up - Tea­gan Pan­ter.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.