Pi­geons cel­e­brate ‘club cham­pi­onship’ sea­son

Yarrawonga Chronicle - - Classies -

Club pres­i­dent Scott Jac­ques con­grat­u­lated all play­ers, coaches and vol­un­teers for their com­mit­ment to the Pi­geons this year.

“A sec­ond club cham­pi­onship is a mea­sure of the whole club’s suc­cess, re­flect­ing its strength,” Jac­ques said.

Jac­ques told those in at­ten­dance that it’s more than a game, re­flect­ing on the great work of all mem­bers and vol­un­teers and also fan­tas­tic fundrais­ing ef­forts of the club such as the White Rib­bon Round, the An­zac Day com­mem­o­ra­tive matches and even the great work of the God­fa­thers, a group es­tab­lished and run by past play­ers.

But it was also a time to cel­e­brate the sea­son’s achieve­ments and a busy night of awards pro­ceeded.

In his first year at the Pi­geons since com­ing across from Sey­mour in the Goul­burn Val­ley League, new re­cruit Harry Wheeler clearly won the Yar­ra­wonga Chron­i­cle and the Tom Run­nalls Se­nior’s Best and Fairest Award and ta­lented net­baller Caitlin O’Dy­wer capped off an­other stel­lar year win­ning the cov­eted Tracey Gil­lies A-Grade Best and Fairest Award.

Ovens and Mur­ray League Chair­man David Sin­clair presents Pi­geons’ Pres­i­dent Scott Jaques with the 2018 Ovens and Mur­ray Club Cham­pi­ons Award last Thurs­day night.

U18 foot­ball award win­ners: From left to right; Ris­ing Star Alex Byrne; Most de­ter­mined Will Wood­burn; Best player in fi­nals Jack Brooks; Best and Fairest Jack Sex­ton; Most coura­geous Ned Mullins; Run­ner Up Best and Fairest Owen Con­way.

Se­nior foot­ball award win­ners. From left to right; Jam­mie Smyth Award - Tyler Bonat; Run­ner Up Best and Fairest Xavier Leslie; Best first year player Matt Casey; Thomas Run­nalls Best and Fairest Harry Wheeler; Best player in fi­nals Lach Howe; Coaches Award Beau Sey­mour. Ab­sent; Lead­ing goal­kicker Jess Koop­man.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.