Beware “vegan wine”
Natural wines are already vegan because they aren’t filtered. The filtering process often involves egg whites or fish bladders—in the barrel, larger solids glom on to these agents and sink to the bottom, bottom allowing wine to be pumped away clean. So anyone promoting wines as vegan is doing it only for marketing reasons and might not care about quality. “If you buy a wine because it says it’s vegan, there’s a good chance it’s going to be crappy,” Lepeltier says.