Elec­tion ar­eas set for Dzongkhag and Yen­lag Thromdes

Bhutan Times - - Front Page - Sonam Pen­jor

Elec­tion ar­eas in the Dzongkhag Thromdes are fi­nal­ized by the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion of Bhutan af­ter thor­ough public con­sul­ta­tion con­ducted early this month. The de­mar­ca­tion of such ar­eas called ‘de­lim­i­ta­tion’ is com­pleted for 15 Dzongkhag Thromdes and 18 Dzongkhag Yen­lag Thromdes ap­proved by the par­lia­ment.

Dzongkhag Thromdes will now have Dzongkhag Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa Demkhongs. The num­ber of Demkhongs can vary from six to nine de­ter­mined by the size of the reg­is­tered voter pop­u­la­tion of the Thromde. If a Thromde has less than 5,000 reg­is­tered vot­ers then it will have min­i­mum of six demkhongs. Whereas a Thromde can have max­i­mum of nine demkhongs with more than 10,000 reg­is­tered vot­ers.

For now all 15 Dzongkhag Thromdes will have only six Demkhongs each given the lim­ited num­ber of reg­is­tered vot­ers. Bumthang Dzongkhag Thromde has the largest reg­is­tered voter pop­u­la­tion of 2,265 peo­ple.

A Thrompon, a thromde thuemi and Tshogpa for each demkhongs will be elected dur­ing the Dzongkhag Thromde elec­tions.

How­ever, Gasa Dzongkhag Thromde is de­prived of reg­is­tered vot­ers in five of their six al­lot­ted demkhongs. Elec­tion Com­mis­sion says that, in such case, even a demkhong can elect of­fice bear­ers to the Thromde. Phu­lakha Demkhong un­der Gasa Thromde is the only demkhong with 23 reg­is­tered vot­ers.

Ac­cord­ing to the press re­lease from the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion, ef­forts have been made to en­sure that the voter pop­u­la­tion of Demkhongs in a Thromde is equal or sim­i­lar in size so as to give equiv­a­lent weight to the votes cast by ev­ery voter.

Con­sid­er­a­tion had to be given not only to cre­ate clear ge­o­graph­i­cal bound­aries but also to the changes in the pro­posed Demkhong bound­aries based on valid rea­sons put for­ward by the par­tic­i­pants dur­ing the public con­sul­ta­tion.

How­ever, peo­ple of Paro de­cried over the de­ci­sion of the Par­lia­ment in con­sid­er­ing the bound­aries for their Dzongkhag Thromde. So they did not favour the dis­cus­sion on con­sul­ta­tion of de­lim­i­ta­tion of demkhongs un­der the Thromde.

The dec­la­ra­tion of the Dzongkhag Thromdes and Dzongkhag Yen­lag Thromdes has changed bound­aries of 34 Gewogs and 56 Chi­wogs.

Mean­while, the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion has asked the gov­ern­ment to pro­vide clear di­rec­tives as to who will ad­min­is­ter the Dzongkhag Yen­lag Thromdes: Dzongkhag or gewogs?

The Dzongkhag Yen­lag Thromdes like Damji in Gasa and the Dhosoon in Trashi Yangtse will not have elec­tions as they do not have reg­is­tered vot­ers while Lhamoi Dz­ingkha in Da­gana has the high­est reg­is­tered voter pop­u­la­tion for Yen­lag Thromde with 1,021 peo­ple.

The Dzongkhag Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa Demkhongs were de­lim­ited for 15 Dzongkhag Thromdes of Bumthang, Da­gana, Gasa, Haa, Lhuentse, Mong­gar, Paro, Pu­nakha, Samtse, Trashigang, Trashi Yangtse, Trongsa, Tsir­ang, Wang­due Pho­drang and Zhem­gang.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Bhutan

© PressReader. All rights reserved.