DPT will form a strong op­po­si­tion : DPT pres­i­dent Pema Gyamt­sho

Business Bhutan - - Front Page - Dechen Dolkar from Thim­phu

Af­ter se­cur­ing wins in only 17 of the to­tal 47 con­stituen­cies in the gen­eral elec­tions on Thurs­day, Druk Phuen­sum Tshogpa (DPT) will now go on to form the op­po­si­tion for the sec­ond time.

DPT pres­i­dent Pema Gyamt­sho said the party will form a strong op­po­si­tion in the third par­lia­ment.

And since their pledges were for

long-term, Pema Gyamt­sho said this fac­tor made them win only 17 con­stituen­cies out of the to­tal 47.

“Peo­ple are opt­ing for short-term goals and free­bies,” he said, adding that what­ever it may be, it is peo­ple’s de­ci­sion and that they re­spect the peo­ple’s de­ci­sion.

Mean­while, as com­pared to 2013 gen­eral elec­tions, DPT won an ad­di­tional two seats; it had only 15 seats in 2013.

How­ever, the party could not win any sin­gle con­stituency from west­ern and south­ern parts of the coun­try in the gen­eral elec­tions this year.

The party won from all the three con­stituen­cies in Pema­gat­shel with a land­slide mar­gin of votes both in terms of postal bal­lot and elec­tronic vot­ing ma­chines.

DPT won from the two con­stituen­cies in Bumthang. How­ever, it was a con­stricted bat­tle in Bumthang’s Ch­hu­migUra con­stituency. DPT can­di­date Karma Wangchuk won with only 18 more votes than DNT can­di­date Phuntsho Nam­gay.

Phuntsho Nam­gay got 1,010 votes through EVM, while Karma Wangchuk se­cured 868 votes. How­ever, DPT bagged 570 votes through postal bal­lot, while DNT got 405 votes.

DPT also won from the two con­stituen­cies in Trashiyangtse and Zhem­gang.

And of the five con­stituen­cies in Trashigang, DPT won only from the three con­stituen­cies of Bartsham-Shon­phu, Kan­glung-SamkharUd­zorong, and Wam­rong.

In Kan­glung-SamkharUd­zorong con­stituency, DPT can­di­date Sam­drup R Wangchuk won with 28 more votes than DNT can­di­date Ten­zin Nam­gyel.

Ten­zin Nam­gyel got more votes in EVM with 2,118 votes, while DPT can­di­date Sam­drup R Wangchuk se­cured 1,829 votes. The DPT can­di­date, how­ever, won from the postal bal­lot votes with 2,037 votes against DNT can­di­date, who se­cured 1,720 postal bal­lot votes.

And from the three con­stituen­cies in Mong­gar, DPT won only in two con­stituen­cies of Dramedtse-Ngat­shang and Kengkhar-Wer­ingla.

DPT can­di­date Karma Lhamo from Mong­gar con­stituency se­cured more votes through postal bal­lot with 1,864 votes and DNT can­di­date Sherub Gyelt­shen bagged 1,733 votes through postal bal­lot. How­ever, Karma Lhamo se­cured only 1,822 votes through EVM, while Sherub Gyelt­shen got 2,030 votes through EVM. Karma Lhamo lost by 80 votes in Mong­gar con­stituency.

Mean­while, DPT also lost in the five con­stituen­cies, which the party had man­aged to win dur­ing the pri­mary round of elec­tions.

In the pri­maries, DPT se­cured the high­est vote from Lam­gongWangchang con­stituency in Paro and it was the only con­stituency that DPT man­aged to win from the west. How­ever, this time DPT can­di­date Phub Tshering lost through votes from postal bal­lot. DNT’s Ugyen Tshering won with 70 more votes.

Mean­while, Ugyen Wangdi from Dramedt­seN­gat­shang con­stituency in Mong­gar se­cured the high­est votes of 5,602. All in­cum­bent mem­bers of DPT who con­tested were elected ex­pect for Nidup Zangpo from Nu­biTangsi­bji con­stituency.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Bhutan

© PressReader. All rights reserved.