CBRM facts

Cape Breton Post - - FRONT PAGE -

• Amal­ga­ma­tion saw the join­ing of the city of Syd­ney, the towns of Glace Bay, Do­min­ion, North Syd­ney, New Water­ford, Syd­ney Mines and Louis­bourg, and the mu­nic­i­pal­ity of the County of Cape Bre­ton. • Amal­ga­ma­tion in Cape Bre­ton and Hal­i­fax coun­ties was forced by the province. • On July 31, 1995, there were 77 coun­cil mem­bers rep­re­sent­ing the eight for­mer mu­nic­i­pal­i­ties that now con­sti­tute the CBRM. • The next day, with amal­ga­ma­tion, there were 22 coun­cil mem­bers — 21 dis­trict coun­cil­lors and a mayor elected at large. • In a plebiscite held dur­ing the 1997 mu­nic­i­pal vote, 69.3 per cent voted in favour of down­siz­ing CBRM coun­cil. Coun­cil was even­tu­ally re­duced to 16 coun­cil­lors plus the mayor. It now stands at 12 coun­cil­lors and the mayor. • There have been four may­ors since amal­ga­ma­tion — John Coady, David Muise, John Mor­gan and Ce­cil Clarke. • In 1996, the pop­u­la­tion of the re­gion was al­most 115,000. In 2011, it stood at about 97,400.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.