“Ease My Mind”

Exclaim! - - FAB DISTRO -


Out now – Ease My Mind is the fi fth full-length al­bum from Swedish pop masters Shout Out Louds, and their first since 2013’s Op­tica. “Ease My Mind cel­e­brates mu­sic as a means of es­cape, a need to take a break from feel­ing pet­ri­fied with fear,” Shout Out Louds’ Adam Ole­nius and Beb­ban Sten­borg write. “The world is a dif­fer­ent place now than it was in the be­gin­ning of the 2000s. We didn’t grow up very aware of po­lit­i­cal mes­sages in mu­sic and prob­a­bly didn’t feel much of an ur­gent need to un­der­stand the world around us, in that sense. How­ever, that has changed over the years. The world has seemed ex­tremely dystopic and frail for quite a while now, and hav­ing chil­dren and get­ting older forces you to open your eyes to is­sues more dev­as­tat­ing than heart­break and feel­ing lost. But in our mu­sic, we still al­low our­selves to ad­dress things the way we al­ways have: through emo­tions rather than anal­y­sis. Ease My Mind is a lot about that for us.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.