Towns re­lease can­di­dates’ names for up­com­ing elec­tion

Nor'wester (Springdale) - - EDITORIAL -

Can­di­dates have come for­ward for the Sept. 26 mu­nic­i­pal elec­tions across the prov­ince, with nom­i­na­tion day tak­ing place re­cently in re­spec­tive towns.


In Spring­dale, in­cum­bents Dave Edi­son, Brenda Dicks, Joe Tomp­kins and Fran­cis Wheeler will be seek­ing re-elec­tion. New­com­ers Rhodes Pel­ley, Peter An­drews, Kim Black­ler, Shawn Weir and Janet Har­ris hope to join the new coun­cil.

Baie Verte

In Baie Verte, the town orig­i­nally re­leased a list of eight can­di­dates for the up­com­ing elec­tion, in­clud­ing Mindy Russell, Shawn Russell, Bran­don Philpott, Ryan White, Christo­pher How­ell, Bradley Haas, Ger­ard Dyer and Scott Furey. Later in the day, the orig­i­nal Face­book post was re­moved and a new post stated five peo­ple were ac­claimed to coun­cil and a by­elec­tion for the re­main­ing spots will be held later. Bradley Haas, Ger­ard Dyer and Mindy Russell were no longer on the list. A town rep­re­sen­ta­tive said out of re­spect for pri­vacy, all he could say was the re­main­ing five are the “qual­i­fied nom­i­nees who have not with­drawn.”


Can­di­dates for the elec­tion in Tri­ton are Har­vey Hen­stridge, St­ed­man Ride­out, Bramwell Roberts, Darrin Roberts, Gil­bert Roberts, Jason Roberts, Doretta Strick­land, Leon Strick­land, Lindy Vin­cent, Ed­mund Whe­lan, Pat Wil­liams and Jeremy Win­sor.

Mid­dle Arm

Bobby Hull and Neville Robin­son are run­ning for mayor in Mid­dle Arm. Seek­ing coun­cil­lor po­si­tions are Jamie Bur­ton, Rowena Bussey, Derrick Chipp, Morris Chipp, Travis Eng­land, Jason Mitchell, Maud Noble, Richard Prouse, Barry Robin­son, Robert Robin­son, San­dra Robin­son Young, Daphne Saun­ders, Mur­ray Til­ley and Josephine Thomas.

Pil­ley’s Is­land

Six can­di­dates are in the run­ning for five seats on coun­cil in Pil­ley’s Is­land. Ni­cole Hol­land, Terry Hoskins, Corey Roberts, Otto Ryan, Nora Tiz­zard and Betty Tra­verse will be seek­ing elec­tion Sept. 26. The polling sta­tion will be at the town of­fice.

South Brook

In South Brook, eight peo­ple are vy­ing for seven seats. Checo Hewlett, Don­ald Hig­don, Ron­ald McKay, Wal­lace McKay, Gor­don Mil­ley, Rocky Morey, Gene Par­sons and Glenn Rowsell have put their names for­ward. The polling sta­tion will also be at the town hall.

King’s Point

In King’s Point, 10 peo­ple are try­ing to se­cure one of seven po­si­tions on coun­cil. The list in­cludes Perry Blan­chard, Ste­wart Bow­ers, Bob Budgell, Brad Burt, Deb­o­rah Cakes, Perry Gilling­ham, Peter Gilling­ham, Ryan Kel­ley, Harold New­bury and Travis Richards. The polling sta­tion will also be at the town hall.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.