A glimpse at mu­nic­i­pal elec­tion re­sults through­out the area

Nor'wester (Springdale) - - FRONT PAGE - BY CORY HUR­LEY

Dave Edi­son topped the new coun­cil in vot­ing as Spring­dale put its new lead­ers in place for the next four years.

Edi­son, a re­turn­ing mem­ber of coun­cil, col­lected 595 votes.

Other mem­bers of coun­cil are Shawn Weir, 584 votes; Rhodes Pel­ley, 576; Peter An­drews, 497; Brenda Dicks, 388; Joe Tomp­kins, 353; and Janet Har­ris, 341. De­feated can­di­dates were Fran­cis Wheeler with 307 votes and Kim Black­ler with 202.

The new Spring­dale coun­cil will hold its first pub­lic meet­ing Oct. 10. At that time, it is ex­pected the mayor and deputy mayor will be cho­sen.

South Brook

The new town coun­cil in South Brook in­cludes Glenn Rowsell, 176 votes; Checo Hewlett, 167; Wal­lace Mckay, 139; Ron­ald Mckay, 134; Gene Par­sons, 134; Don­ald Hig­don, 133; and Gor­don Mil­ley, 116. Rocky Morey was de­feated af­ter win­ning only 82 votes.


Seventy-five of Burling­ton’s 232 el­i­gi­ble vot­ers cast a bal­lot Sept. 26. Mar­cel Perry, with 65 votes; Bobby Welsh­man, 60; Kevin Win­sor, 48; and Tony Kelly, 47; will make up Burling­ton’s new town coun­cil. Ge­orge Kelly was elected mayor by ac­cla­ma­tion.

De­feated can­di­dates in­clude Rudy Nor­man with 30 votes and Cody Thomas with 24.

Pil­ley’s Is­land

Elected to coun­cil in Pil­ley’s Is­land were Ni­cole Hol­land, 101 votes; Terry Hoskins, 100; Otto Ryan, 74; Nora Tiz­zard, 65; and Betty Tra­verse, 58. Corey Roberts was de­feated af­ter col­lect­ing 48 votes.


Doretta Strick­land led all coun­cil can­di­dates in Tri­ton with 349 votes. She will be joined on coun­cil by Leon Strick­land, who earned 298 votes; Ja­son Roberts, 285; Har­vey Hen­stridge, 269; Jeremy Win­sor, 255; Pat Wil­liams, 249; and St­ed­man Ride­out, 234.

Un­suc­cess­ful in the elec­tion were Gil­bert Roberts with 223 votes; Lindy Vin­cent, 200; Bramwell Roberts, 181; Dar­rin Eoberts, 170; and Ed­mund Whe­lan, 63 votes.

King’s Point

Elected to coun­cil in King’s Point were Perry Gilling­ham, 234 votes; Perry Blan­chard, 200; Ryan Kel­ley, 195; Travis Richards, 178; Deb Cakes, 170; Brad Burt, 152; and Peter Gilling­ham, 127. De­feated were Stewart Bow­ers, 120 votes; Harold New­bury, 107; and Bob Budgell, 103 votes.

Ming’s Bight

Danny Reg­u­lar led all can­di­dates in votes in the mu­nic­i­pal elec­tion in Ming’s Bight with 105. Also earn­ing their way on coun­cil were Terry Fudge, 82 votes; Miles Reg­u­lar, 77; Jamie Cor­bett, 73; and Corey Green­ham, 56. De­feated in the elec­tion were Vic­to­ria Cor­bett, 44 votes; and Vida Rice, 39 votes.

Long Is­land

The new coun­cil in Long Is­land was ac­claimed and in­cludes Daniel Veilleux (mayor), Den­nis Gilling­ham, Les­lie Hur­ley, and Wil­son Slade. A sec­ond nom­i­na­tion day was held Sept. 26, but no new can­di­date came for­ward to fill the va­cant seat.

Lit­tle Bay

The coun­cil in Lit­tle Bay was de­cided by ac­cla­ma­tion. Mem­bers in­clude Phyl­lis Simms (mayor), Svea Faulkner (deputy mayor), Richard Bouzane, Greg Bouzane, and De­nis Dupuis.


Elected in Beachise were Mar­den Ben­nett, Nancy Bow­ers, John Gal­lant, Ward Verge, Vin­cent Ben­nett, Betty Lou Young, and Peter Stone.

Robert’s Arm

The new coun­cil in Robert’s Arm in­cludes Le­an­der Hewlett, Der­rick Hicks, Lori Miller, and Don­ald Pad­dock. A sec­ond nom­i­na­tion day was ex­pected to be held Oct. 3 to at­tempt to fill the re­main­ing three seats.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.