UCI MTB World Cup 2017 Up­date


Pedal Magazine - - Contents - by San­dra Wal­ter

The six-event Canada MTB Cup XCO se­ries kicked off in

March again at Bear Moun­tain in Vic­to­ria, BC, and con­cluded in June at Whistler, BC, crown­ing this sea­son’s cham­pi­ons. For down­hillers, the ac­tion got un­der way with round one at Mon­tTrem­blant, Que., round two at Blue Moun­tain, Ont., and then headed west to con­clude at Whistler in Au­gust.


Soren Meeuwisse (ON, Trek Canada) claimed the over­all hon­ours in the elite women’s cat­e­gory thanks to ex­cep­tional rides in only her sec­ond year as a U23, in­clud­ing a sec­ond place on her home trails at Hard­wood Ski and Bike at round five and third place in rounds three and four in Baie-St-Paul, Que., and Horse­shoe Val­ley, Ont., re­spec­tively. De­spite be­ing ab­sent in Whistler, she col­lected enough points to bag her first elite Canada MTB Cup ti­tle.

In the elite men’s ranks, Evan Guthrie (BC, Pivot/RaceFace/Kal Tire) nabbed the se­ries win, hav­ing posted some blis­ter­ing early-sea­son races, in­clud­ing a win at round two in Mont-Trem­blant, sec­ond in round three, and a cou­ple of thirds in rounds five and six. “My races were far from per­fect this year, but with the help of many I was able to clinch the Se­ries,” he said af­ter the win­ners were an­nounced.

Leya Mas­son (QC, CC Mont-Ste-Anne) and Gun­nar Holm­gren (ON, Cen­tu­rion Nex­tWave) took home the ju­nior women’s and men’s ti­tles in spite of sit­ting out the fi­nal, hav­ing won two races apiece. Mas­son’s team­mate Rox­ane Ver­mette (QC, CC Mont-Ste-Anne) and Al­berta’s Sid­ney McGill (AB, Fo­cus CX Team) also took turns stand­ing at the top of the podium in the ju­nior women’s se­ries. On the ju­nior men’s side, Holden Jones (BC, Cy­cling BC) and Brody San­der­son (ON, Cen­tu­rion Nex­tWave) se­cured a win each, while lo­cal rip­pers Ju­lia Long (BC, Cy­cling BC) and Jones used their home dirt ad­van­tage to win the ju­nior races in Whistler.

Veter­ans Catharine Pen­drel (BC, Clif Pro Team) and Ge­off Kabush (BC, Scott-Maxxis) used their vast ex­pe­ri­ence to over­come the com­pe­ti­tion and a hot and pun­ish­ing course at the Whistler fi­nal, but for most of the sea­son it was a story of break­out per­for­mances by up-and-com­ers.

Jayne Ross­worn (BC, RaceFace/Pen­drel Rac­ing) picked things up at round two, speed­ing to her first elite women’s Canada Cup win and straight into the leader’s jersey in her first sea­son of na­tional com­pe­ti­tion. She was fol­lowed closely in sec­ond by down­hill-skier-turned-biker Emily Un­ter­berger (BC, Cy­cling BC), who is also fresh on the Cana­dian MTB rac­ing scene. Ross­worn and Un­ter­berger podi­umed again in the fi­nale, plac­ing sec­ond and third, re­spec­tively.

The third event of the se­ries in Baie-StPaul saw Maghalie Ro­chette (QC, Clif Pro Team) taker her first-ever elite women’s Canada MTB Cup vic­tory, while Ha­ley Smith (ON, Norco Fac­tory Team) grabbed her in­au­gu­ral win of the sea­son in the fourth round at Horse­shoe Val­ley Re­sort. Cindy Mon­tam­bault (QC, Trek GPL) ped­aled to gold the fol­low­ing week­end at the penul­ti­mate round on Hard­wood’s fast and flowy trails.

The elite men’s cat­e­gory also saw a bunch of young guns mak­ing their marks with podium rides. Raphael Au­clair (QC, Pivot-OTE) earned a third place in Trem­blant, while Quin­ton Dis­era (ON, Norco Fac­tory Team) pow­ered to first in Baie-St-Paul, fol­lowed by Guthrie in sec­ond and young dark horse Davis Ross (ON, AWI Rac­ing) in third. Quin­ton Dis­era went on to nab fourth on his home trails in Horse­shoe Val­ley, as his big brother, Peter Dis­era (ON, Norco Fac­tory Team), se­cured the “W”. An­drew L’Esper­ance (NS, For­ward Rac­ing) showed his strength at Hard­wood, tak­ing his sec­ond ca­reer elite men’s Canada Cup vic­tory and his first with his newly formed squad, while U23 speed­sters Marc-An­dre Fortier (QC, Pivot-OTE) and Sean Fin­cham (BC, For­ward Rac­ing) threw down huge rides to pull off fourth and fifth in the elite com­pe­ti­tion, re­spec­tively.


With only three down­hill rounds on the Canada Cup sched­ule this sea­son, the pres­sure was on to make ev­ery race count. It was Sarah Kone­fal (QC, In­de­pen­dent) who took charge of the elite women’s field from the start in Mont-Trem­blant to be the first to don the 2017 se­ries leader’s jersey, post­ing the fastest run of the day, 2.128 sec­onds quicker than sec­ond place Au­drée Vail­lan­court (QC, Pivot Cy­cles/Trees/FiveTeam). Kone­fal held on to the se­ries lead in round two at Blue Moun­tain on May 28, de­spite a third-place fin­ish be­hind win­ner Amer­i­can Ella Skalwold (USA, Ver­mont Moun­tain Bike Tours/POC/ RaceFace). Skalwold ab­so­lutely blew away the com­pe­ti­tion, fin­ish­ing more than 20 sec­onds ahead of sec­ond place, Vail­lan­court. With a mere five points separat­ing Kone­fal and Vail­lan­court, it will all come down to the fi­nal in Whistler.

Sa­muel Thibault (QC, In­de­pen­dent) threw down the fastest elite men’s run in the open­ing round at Mont-Trem­blant, with a time of 3:18.605 that was four sec­onds speed­ier than sec­ond place, Jonathan Le­fran­cois

(QC, Devinci). With another sil­ver medal in round two, Le­fran­cois’ con­sis­tency paid off in the form of the leader’s jersey with only one event left, although Hugo Langevin (QC, Devinci/Troy Lee/Cy­cles St-Onge/S4) earned the ti­tle of fastest man on the day.

Quin­ton Dis­era takes Baie-St-Paul

Fi­nal over­all se­ries win­ners (l-r) Holm­gren, Mas­son, Meeuwisse, Guthrie.

Cindy Mon­tam­bault tri­umphs at Hard­wood

L’Esper­ance wins at Hard­wood

Sa­muel Thibault and Sarah Kone­fal took an early lead in the DH Se­ries.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.