The Pres­i­den­tial Range

SkiTrax - - Features -

New Hamp­shire's Pres­i­den­tial Range is made up of peaks named af­ter no­ta­bles such as for­mer pres­i­dents of the United States, and also in­clud­ing Franklin and Clay, named af­ter high-rank­ing states­man in the re­gion who earned the hon­our of shar­ing peaks in the Range by virtue of their lofty ac­com­plish­ments.

Mount Franklin - 5,001 feet/1,524 me­tres

Ben­jamin Franklin, one of the Found­ing Fathers of the U.S.

Mount Sam Adams - 5,489 feet/1,673 me­tres (sub­peak of Mount Adams)

Sa­muel Adams, one of the Found­ing Fathers of the U.S.

Mount Wash­ing­ton - 6,288 feet/1,917 me­tres

Ge­orge Wash­ing­ton - first Pres­i­dent 1789-1797

Mount Adams - 5,793 feet/1,766 me­tres

John Adams - sec­ond Pres­i­dent 1797-1801

Mount Jef­fer­son - 5,712 feet/1,741 me­tres

Thomas Jef­fer­son - third Pres­i­dent 1801-1809

Mount Madi­son - 5,367 feet/1,636 me­tres

James Madi­son - fourth Pres­i­dent 1809-1817

Mount Mon­roe - 5,372 feet/1,637 me­tres

James Mon­roe - fifth Pres­i­dent 1817-1825

Mount Quincy Adams - 5,394 feet/1,644 me­tres (sub­peak of Mount Adams)

John Quincy Adams - sixth Pres­i­dent 1825-1829

Mount Jackson - 4,052 feet/1,235 me­tres

An­drew Jackson – sev­enth Pres­i­dent 1829-1837

Mount Pierce - 4,310 feet/1,314 me­tres

Franklin Pierce - 14th Pres­i­dent 1853-1857

Mount Eisen­hower - 4,780 feet/1,457 me­tres

Dwight D. Eisen­hower - 34th Pres­i­dent 1953-1961

Mount Clay (Mount Rea­gan) - 5,533 feet/1,686 me­tres Orig­i­nally named af­ter States­man Henry Clay, then changed to Mount Rea­gan in New Hamp­shire af­ter Ron­ald Rea­gan - 40th Pres­i­dent 1981-1989

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.