Thirty-five years of curl­ing

Spe­cial Col­lab­o­ra­tion Bruce Ams­den, 802-334-2808

Stanstead Journal - - SPORTS -

The Border Curl­ing Club in Stanstead, Que­bec, held the an­nual Pres­i­dent’s Cup Bon­spiel Jan­uary 13 - 16. This event has con­tin­ued for over 35 years. Twelve teams or 48 curlers par­tic­i­pated in this year’s com­pe­ti­tion. A din­ner, pizza night and brunch was served prior to the fi­nals.

The next ma­jor event is the CanUsa Bon­spiel In­vi­ta­tional Fe­bru­ary 3 – 6. Win­ners of the A di­vi­sion (top photo) are, stand­ing from left to right: Aline Pat­ter­son, Garry Coburn, Joyce Shee and Stan Han­cox; and kneel­ing are the run­ners-up from left to right: Mait­land Warner, Bruce Ams­den, Mickey Morelli and Woody Page. Win­ners of the B di­vi­sion (bot­tom photo) are stand­ing from left to right: Claude d’Aragon, Bob Smith, Dan Martein­son and Patsy Lit­tler; and kneel­ing are run­ners-up: Mar­sha Mid­dle­ton, Therese Gaulin, John O’Gal­lagher and Muriel Martin.

pho­tos pro­vided by Bruce Ams­den

photo Cour­tesy

Back (L to R) – Danny Comeau, Matt McCrea, Evan Mooney, Jeff Cheal (Sherbrooke Branch 10) Front (L to R)– Jeff Bailes, An­drew Hatch, Marty Rourke, Brad Lassenba (North Hat­ley Branch 242)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.