Galt Ath­letic Awards

Stanstead Journal - - FRONT PAGE - Vic­to­ria Vanier, Len­noxville

Anen­thu­si­as­tic crowd of stu­dents, teach­ers, coaches and proud par­ents at­tended Alexan­der Galt High School’s Ath­letic Awards last Wed­nes­day. The top awards for both ath­leti­cism and aca­demics are the Ella Hoy Tro­phy, for a fe­male, and the Reg New­ton Tro­phy for a male. Sa­man­tha Young, from Ayer’s Cliff, re­ceived the Ella Hoy Tro­phy as well as the “G” of Ex­cel­lence, while Caleb Willms re­ceived the Reg New­ton Tro­phy. The Fe­male Ath­lete of the Year went to Cyn­thia Dupont and Male Ath­lete of the Year was shared be­tween Stanstead East’s Cameron Mur­phy and Ge­orgeville’s Will Cam­ber. Cy­cle one Ath­letes of the Year were Loic Lavallee Mercier and Lind­say Moore.

The Jenn Daigneault Tro­phy, awarded to a com­mu­nity mem­ber for vol­un­teer­ing, was given to Earl El­son for, among other things, his won­der­ful pho­to­graphs such as the one he sent to this news­pa­per which ap­pears on page one. The Phys­i­cal Ed­u­ca­tion Ap­pre­ci­a­tion Award was given to Michael Fowlis and Ash­ley Coulombe.

In­di­vid­ual sport awards were given out to the fol­low­ing stu­dents: Cross coun­try run­ning, Caryn Van Zuiden, Pa­trick De­lange; Soc­cer, Pa­trice Noel, Cameron Burns, Cort­ney Burn­ham, Kaily Mc Bean, Marissa Gre­nier, Mikhayla Pat­ter­son, Loic Mercier, Bran­don Des­ruis­seaux, Char­lene Graham, Vanessa Stevens, Ryan McLean, Se­bastien Lis­ter, Joanie Viens and Alexandra Morin; Bas­ket­ball, Loic

from Mercier,Lu­casComeau,DanikaLam­bert, Brooke Har­ri­son, Ash­ley Wright, Ros­alie Wub­boltz, Jonathan Coté, Bran­don Des­ruis­seaux, Cas­san­dra Bouchard, Eliane Wub­boltz, Cameron Mur­phy, Owen Mac­Don­ald, Bran­don Wright, Kelly Ni­chols, Cyn­thia Dupont, Katie Mur­ray; Hockey, Den­zel Suther­land, Loik Des­fos­ses, Jean Michel Gos­selin, Vin­cent Boutin, Kaleb Ni­mat; Bad­minton, Sasha Kal­e­var, Ash­ley Do­herty; Swim­ming, Sasha Kal­e­var, Kim­ber­ley Lowry; Ten­nis, Sasha Kal­e­var, Irene Lasaga; Soft­ball, Krista Sylvester, Cyn­thia Pat­ter­son, Kas­san­draTardif,Ash­leyDo­herty;Rugby, Kelly Hur­dle, Alexandra Robb, Meg­gie Bolduc, Jor­dan Suther­land; Golf, Wil­liam Cam­ber.

Congratulations to all! cial reg­u­la­tory body which may or may not ac­cept the town’s con­di­tion.

And, start­ing a tra­di­tion that should spread ev­ery­where, North Hat­ley is buy­ing a paint­ing de­pict­ing an old house, this year, the work of Trevor McKin­ven. It is an ex­am­ple to fol­low for other towns.

If the lat­est book by Dan Brown has made you in­ter­ested in Freema­sonry, or if you sim­ply have ques­tions about Freema­sonry and the Shriners that you have al­ways wanted to ask but did not know where to get them an­swered, then plan to visit the Freema­son’s “Open House”, where both English and French­s­peak­ing Ma­sons will be happy to as­sist you. Please feel free to bring your fam­ily mem­bers with you. The build­ing will be open to all who would like to see and have a guided tour around the in­side of a Freema­son’s Lodge Room. Mem­bers of the Shriners will also be there to an­swer ques­tions about the ser­vices they of­fer to the com­mu­nity.

As a fra­ter­nal as­so­ci­a­tion ded­i­cated to mak­ing good men bet­ter, Freema­sonry is not a sub­sti­tute for church or re­li­gion. The Fra­ter­nity urges its mem­bers to prac­tise their own par­tic­u­lar re­li­gious be­liefs in their daily lives. Freema­sonry is open to all men of good char­ac­ter and does not dis­crim­i­nate on the ba­sis of race, re­li­gion or so­cial class.

This is an op­por­tu­nity to visit and speak to Ma­sons who live in your com­mu­nity, to ask ques­tions and to un­der­stand what makes a man a Ma­son. Light re­fresh­ments will be avail­able.

Other lo­cal Ma­sonic lodges can be found in Stanstead, Gould, Ma­gog, North Hat­ley, Rich­mond, Sawyerville and Thet­ford Mines.

photo Earl El­son

Tro­phy win­ners at the Galt Ath­letic Awards were (l. to r.) Fe­male Ath­lete of the Year Cyn­thia Dupont, Ella Hoy win­ner Sa­man­tha Young, Male Ath­letes of the Year Cameron Mur­phy and Will Cam­ber, and Reg New­ton win­ner Caleb Willms.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.