Lots to see at Colby-Curtis
The Colby- Curtis Museum is having a busy summer with two temporary exhibitions to complement the permanent exhibition of the Carrollcroft mansion. Visitors to the Museum can also enjoy refreshments in the Tea Room which is open seven days a week, from 11:00 am. to 3:30 pm.
The History of Rural Medicine in Stanstead County
This exhibition will explore how the development of modern medicine affected Stanstead County by focusing on three contrasting periods seen through the lives of three local practitioners: Moses French Colby M.D., who practised in the border area for forty years, built Carrollcroft, and died here in 1863; his grandson, John Child Colby M.D. who practiced from 1904 to 1926, and built the “Doctor’s Office” extension to Carrollcroft in which this exhibition is housed; and the recently retired and much admired Gilles Bouchard M.D., a native of Stanstead who opened his practice here in 1963.
Remembering our Soldiers of the Great War
This exhibition explores the treatment of the impact of WW1 on the townships through the idea of remembrance. The exhibition explains who were the men of Stanstead County who enlisted and fought in the war, who died, and in what circumstances.
The Great War left a deep impression on the collective memory of the people of Stanstead County. Over 600 enlisted and at least eighty-eight lost their lives. If one accepts the premise that those who died were representative of the whole, about 40% of those who enlisted were industrial workers or labourers and another 30% farmers. Among those who lost their lives, fourteen were from Magog, eleven from North Hatley, ten from Stanstead, nine from Coaticook and the remainder from more than a dozen other localities.