Elec­tions will be held in four out of the eleven wards for the East­ern Town­ships School Board

The Chair­man is re-elected by ac­cla­ma­tion

Stanstead Journal - - LEN NOXVILLE NEWS -

The pe­riod to de­posit your can­di­dacy for the Novem­ber 2 school elec­tions is over and for the East­ern Town­ships School Board, elec­tions will be held in four of the eleven wards. In all, there will be eleven can­di­dates vy­ing for the four avail­able seats on the Coun­cil of Com­mis­sion­ers. The re­main­ing 7 seats, as well as the po­si­tion of chair­man, were elected by ac­cla­ma­tion.

In com­par­i­son to the elec­tions held in 2007, the num­ber of seats up for elec­tion has dou­bled and the num­ber of can­di­dates run­ning for those seats has in­creased 64%, from four can­di­dates in 2007 to eleven in 2014. The wards and can­di­dates that will be go­ing to the polls are : Ward # 2 (Cowansville) Gérald Car­rière, Aukje Huitema, Gregg Thom­son; Ward # 4 (Granby and Water­loo) Pierre Bell, Alice McCrory; Ward # 6 (Ayer’s Cliff, North Hat­ley and Stanstead) Claire Beaubien, Bar­bara Heath,

David Wright; Ward # 8 (Sher­brooke bor­oughs of Len­noxville and Fleu­ri­mont) Gor­don Bar­nett,

Steve Côté, Dou­glas Sul­li­van. In all, over 3,000 in­di­vid­u­als will be el­i­gi­ble to cast their bal­lot for the com­mis­sioner of their choice. The fol­low­ing in­di­vid­u­als were elected by ac­cla­ma­tion in their re­spec­tive wards; Ward # 1 Joy Hu­menuik (Bed­ford, Farn­ham); Ward # 3 Richard Gagnon (Lac-Brome); Ward # 5 Daniel Brodie (Magog, Man­sonville); Ward # 7 Fran­cis MacGregor (Sher­brooke); Ward # 9 Tina Pezzi-Bilodeau (Danville, Drum­mondville); Ward # 10 Gary Hol­l­i­day (Rich­mond); Ward # 11 Mary-Ellen Kirby (Bury, Cook­shire, Sawyerville). Michael Mur­ray will be re­turn­ing to the po­si­tion of Chair­man, which he has held since 2006. “I am very pleased to see the in­crease in the level of par­tic­i­pa­tion this year for can­di­dates in­ter­ested in run­ning as a school com­mis­sioner. Now it will be up to the vot­ers to ex­er­cise their right and get out and cast their vote,” ex­pressed Pauline Lazure, Re­turn­ing Of­fi­cer for the East­ern Town­ships School Board.

Any­one wish­ing to vote in one of the above-men­tioned wards, who does not re­ceive a voter’s card or has cor­rec­tions to be made to their sit­u­a­tion, may make a re­quest dur­ing the re­vi­sion pe­riod. *Ad­vance polls will be held on Oc­to­ber 26 with polling day be­ing held on Novem­ber 2, 2014. More in­for­ma­tion on where and when to vote will be pub­li­cized in lo­cal news­pa­pers as well as on the school board web­site at www.etsb.qc.ca. * Board of re­vi­sors Re­turn­ing Of­fi­cer’s of­fice, 340 Saint-Jean-Bosco, Magog Oc­to­ber 7, 8 and 10 from 10 AM to 1 PM / Oc­to­ber 14 from 7PM to 10PM Massey Vanier High School, 224 Mercier, Cowansville / Oc­to­ber 9 from 4 PM to 10 PM

The East­ern Town­ships School Board is an English lan­guage school board that of­fers ed­u­ca­tional ser­vices to close to 6,000 stu­dents, with 20 el­e­men­tary schools, three high schools, one al­ter­na­tive high school, two adult ed­u­ca­tion cen­tres, two vo­ca­tional train­ing cen­tres, a global learn­ing in­sti­tute with dis­tance ed­u­ca­tion and an in­ter­na­tional stu­dents pro­gram.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.