East­ern Town­ships School Board Elec­tion Re­sults

Stanstead Journal - - NEWS - Magog

The East­ern Town­ships School Board (ETSB) held elec­tions in four of the eleven wards. Voter turnout was higher than ex­pected with the polls busy through­out the day. The over­all voter turnout rate for the ETSB was ap­prox­i­mately 15%, with the Len­noxville ward hav­ing the high­est rate at 18%. The re­main­ing seven wards as well as the po­si­tion of chair­man were elected by ac­cla­ma­tion.

The new coun­cil of com­mis­sion­ers for the ETSB is as fol­lows: elected by ac­cla­ma­tion are; Michael Mur­ray - Chair­man (in­cum­bent), Joy Hu­menuik - Ward 1 (in­cum­bent), Richard Gagnon – ward 3 (in­cum­bent), Daniel Brodie – Ward 5 (in­cum­bent), Frank MacGregor – Ward 7 (in­cum­bent), Tina Pezzi-Bilodeau – Ward 9, Gary Hol­l­i­day – Ward 10 (in­cum­bent), Mary-Ellen Kirby – Ward 11 (in­cum­bent), elected are: Gregg Thom­son – Ward 2, Alice McCrory – Ward 4, Claire Beaubien– Ward 6, and Gor­don Bar­nett – Ward 8.

The ETSB would like to take this op­por­tu­nity to wel­come and con­grat­u­late all elected and ac­claimed com­mis­sion­ers and looks for­ward to the next four years work­ing closely and col­le­gially with the new coun­cil to pro­vide the best pos­si­ble ed­u­ca­tional en­vi­ron­ment and op­por­tu­nity for our stu­dents.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.