Amherst Lit­tle League con­cludes sea­son with awards ban­quet

Lions rec­og­nized for A sys­tem reg­u­lar sea­son, play­off cham­pi­onships

The Amherst News - - SPORTS -

It was a big night for the Lions as the club was hon­oured for win­ning the Amherst Lit­tle League reg­u­lar sea­son pen­nant and play­off cham­pi­onship while sev­eral of its mem­bers earned in­di­vid­ual award dur­ing the league’s clos­ing ban­quet on Sun­day.

Reece Mac­Don­ald earned the Bob Ed­gett Tro­phy as most im­proved player in the A sys­tem while Kyler Ed­wards was pre­sented the Red Stu­art Memo­rial Tro­phy as top bat­ter with a .595 bat­ting av­er­age.

Reece Mac­Don­ald of the Lions and Man­del Nick­er­son of the Mix­ers shared the Stacey Tower Memo­rial Tro­phy as most valu­able player in the play­offs while Burke Beed of the pen­nant and play­off run­ners-up Mix­ers was named top pitcher in the A sys­tem, win­ning the Bar­ton Rem­ing­ton Memo­rial Tro­phy.

The Hur­ley Memo­rial Tro­phy, pre­sented to the rookie of the year, was pre­sented to Sawyer Har­vey of the Carter’s Crest­ing Cubs and Ri­ley Mac­Don­ald of the Mix­ers earned the Jim Mac­Don­ald Memo­rial Tro­phy as the player best ex­em­pli­fy­ing sports­man­ship and ded­i­ca­tion.

Ethan Sher­riff of the Mix­ers was pre­sented the Louise Bur­bine Tro­phy as the player best show­ing sports­man­ship and play­ing abil­ity and Bray­den Stevens of the Y’s Guys capped off his lit­tle league ca­reer by win­ning the Hec Mac­Don­ald Memo­rial Tro­phy as the most valu­able player in the A sys­tem.

The Nick Mer­rill and Corey Bates League Appreciation Award was pre­sented to Diana Legere and Tammy Stevens for their work score­keep­ing A sys­tem games.

Rep­re­sen­ta­tives from the Bates-Mer­rill foun­da­tion were also on hand to present a $1,000 do­na­tion to lit­tle league.

The Bon­nie Quinn Tro­phy, pre­sented an­nu­ally to the top fe­male player in ei­ther A or B, was pre­sented to Jenna Sid­dall of the Sobeys B sys­tem team.

In the B sys­tem, the Ray­mond Gil­roy Memo­rial Tro­phy for sports­man­ship and ded­i­ca­tion was pre­sented to Austin Mur­ray of Sobeys while the Doug Og­den Tro­phy as most im­proved player was pre­sented to Ri­ley La­rade of Sobeys.

The Lo­cal 1233 Town of Amherst Em­ploy­ees Tro­phy was pre­sented to Cam­den Rem­ing­ton of Ge­orge’s Fam­ily Mow­ing as the player best demon­strat­ing sports­man­ship and play­ing abil­ity. Ai­dan McAloney of Ge­orge’s Fam­ily Mow­ing re­ceived the By­ron Curry Memo­rial Tro­phy as MVP in the B sys­tem.

The David Maltby Memo­rial Tro­phy as B sys­tem pen­nant win­ners was pre­sented to the Jr. Y’s Guys and Sobeys was pre­sented the Lorne Hunter Memo­rial Tro­phy as B sys­tem play­off cham­pi­ons.

The Lions re­ceived the Amherst News Tro­phy as A sys­tem pen­nant win­ners as the M.J. Kauf­man Memo­rial Tro­phy as play­off cham­pi­ons. The Mix­ers earned the Carter’s Crest­ing Tro­phy as reg­u­lar sea­son run­ners-up and the Lo­cal 6874 Steel­work­ers of Amer­ica Tro­phy as play­off run­ners-up. The Carter’s Crest­ing Cubs earned the Reg Lau­rette Memo­rial Tro­phy as the play­off con­so­la­tion win­ners.

Darcy My­ers was most im­proved and Ryan Oderkirk most sports­man­like on the Ge­orge’s Fam­ily Mow­ing team, Ri­ley La­rade was most im­proved and Ken­zie Cross­man most sports­man­like on Har­risons, De­clan O’Ble­nis was most im­proved and Jenna Sid­dall most sports­man­like on Sobeys and Lo­gan Boudreau was most im­proved and Kylie Sid­dall most sports­man­like on the Jr. Y’s Guys.

Holly Hamilton was pre­sented with a league appreciation award for her vol­un­teer work over the sum­mer as coach of Har­risons and her sup­port of both the A and B sys­tems.

A sys­tem MVPs in­cluded Ryder Codling and Bray­den Stevens for the Y’s Guys, Kieran Sears for the Carter’s Crest­ing Cubs, Burke Beed for the Mix­ers and De­clan LeBlanc and Evan Legere for the Lions.

Play­ers were also pre­sented gold and sil­ver base­balls for vol­un­teer work at the field. Gold ball re­cip­i­ents were Man­del Nick­er­son, Bray­den Stevens, Ethan Sher­riff and Cam­den Rem­ing­ton while sil­ver ball re­cip­i­ents were Brady Gill, Thane McAloney, Burke Beed, Ma­son Sloan and Kieran Sears.

Dar­rell Cole – Amherst News

The Amherst Lit­tle League pre­sented awards to play­ers and teams from its B sys­tem teams dur­ing its clos­ing ban­quet on Sun­day, Sept. 10. Earn­ing awards were: (front, from left) Ken­zie Cross­man, Lo­gan Boudreau, Ri­ley La­rade, Austin Mur­ray, (back, from...

Dar­rell Cole – Amherst News

The Amherst Lit­tle League pre­sented awards to play­ers and teams from its A sys­tem teams dur­ing its clos­ing ban­quet on Sun­day, Sept. 10. Earn­ing awards were: (front, from left) Burke Beed, Kyler Ed­wards, Bray­den Stevens, De­clan LeBlanc, (back, from...

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.