Coun­cil briefs

The Amherst News - - NEWS -

Christie re-elected as Amherst’s deputy mayor

AMHERST — Sheila Christie has been re-elected to a sec­ond term as Amherst’s deputy mayor.

Christie, who was first elected to coun­cil in last Oc­to­ber’s municipal elec­tion, de­feated vet­eran coun­cilor and for­mer deputy mayor Terry Rhin­dress dur­ing Amherst’s Oc­to­ber coun­cil elec­tion.

The deputy mayor serves a oneyear term be­gin­ning Nov. 1 and ex­pir­ing Oct. 31. She will rep­re­sent the town at func­tions the mayor can­not at­tend.

Christie, who was born and raised in Amherst, has served on nu­mer­ous com­mu­nity or­ga­ni­za­tions and works as a fi­nan­cial con­troller at Tay­lor Ford Amherst.

Amherst to in­stall cross­walk from Cen­ten­nial Villa

AMHERST — Amherst is go­ing to in­stall a new cross­walk from Cen­ten­nial Villa across Church Street to Phar­masave.

For sev­eral years, res­i­dents at Cen­ten­nial Villa and Gables Lodge, a pair of nurs­ing homes at the top of Church Street, have been ask­ing the town to build a cross­walk across the street to the phar­macy.

The town has de­nied those re­quests for var­i­ous rea­sons, in­clud­ing the prox­im­ity of the Church Street and Robert An­gus Drive in­ter­sec­tion that has its own cross­walk.

A re­cent re­quest was re­viewed by the town’s traf­fic au­thor­ity, po­lice chief Ian Nay­lor, and he ap­proved the in­stal­la­tion of the cross­walk since it falls within the most re­cent guide­lines of the Trans­porta­tion As­so­ci­a­tion of Canada man­ual.

Be­fore the cross­walk can be in­stalled there is some in­fra­struc­ture work the town has to com­plete, in­clud­ing ex­tend­ing a cul­vert. The ex­ten­sion, along with con­crete and as­phalt, is ex­pected to cost $5,000 and will come out of this year’s op­er­at­ing and as­phalt patch­ing bud­gets.

The owner of Phar­masave has also agreed to do some work on his prop­erty to make the cross­walk a re­al­ity.

Amherst buys new side­walk ma­chine

AMHERST — Saun­ders Equip­ment was the suc­cess­ful bid­der to pro­vide a new side­walk ma­chine to Amherst for $142,360 plus HST.

The fund­ing will come from the town’s 2017-18 cap­i­tal bud­get.

The ap­proved cap­i­tal bud­get for this item is $162,000.

Saun­ders’ bid was the low­est of two bids and it also scored high­est in the bid eval­u­a­tion process. Its Track­less brand name is fully com­pat­i­ble with the town’s ex­ist­ing fleet of Track­less ve­hi­cles.

With the pur­chase, the town can re­tire its old­est, least ef­fi­cient side­walk plow.

Coun­cil ex­tends com­mit­tee ap­point­ments un­til Jan­uary

AMHERST — Amherst is ex­tend­ing its coun­cil com­mit­tee ap­point­ments un­til Jan­uary while it looks at the rel­e­vance of its par­tic­i­pa­tion in the cur­rent list of com­mit­tees.

Mayor Dr. David Ko­gon is on the L.A. An­i­mal Shel­ter board and the re­gional EMO com­mit­tee, Deputy Mayor Sheila Christie is on the po­lice com­mis­sion un­til Oct. 31, 2018, the plan­ning ad­vi­sory com­mit­tee, Su­san Tay­lor Theatre ad­vi­sory com­mit­tee, the VON and YMCA boards of di­rec­tors.

Coun. Ja­son Blanch is on the po­lice com­mis­sion un­til Oct. 31, 2019, the Municipal Al­co­hol Project, the tree ad­vi­sory com­mit­tee and the Tyn­dal Well­field ad­vi­sory com­mit­tee.

Coun. Vince Byrne is with Cum­ber­land Joint Ser­vices and the re­gional EMO com­mit­tee, Coun. Darrell Jones is with the po­lice com­mis­sion un­til Oct. 31, 2019, the se­nior safety ad­vi­sory group and the Tyn­dal Well­field ad­vi­sory com­mit­tee while Coun. Wayne MacKen­zie is with the li­brary board, the plan­ning ad­vi­sory com­mit­tee and the West High­lands Rede­vel­op­ment Com­mit­tee.

Coun. Terry Rhin­dress is with the CJSMA, the North­ern Re­gion Solid Waste Com­mit­tee, the plan­ning ad­vi­sory com­mit­tee and the West High­lands Rede­vel­op­ment com­mit­tee.

All coun­cilors are on the com­mit­tee-of-the-whole and all, ex­cept for Coun. Byrne, are mem­bers of the au­dit com­mit­tee.

Amherst names new youth town coun­cil

AMHERST — Amherst coun­cil has ap­proved a new 10-mem­ber youth town coun­cil for 2017-18.

Olivia Pul­sifer, Austin Coates, Ro­hin Minocha- McKen­ney, Ra­jan McKen­ney and Al­lie De­gen­stein are re­turn­ing to coun­cil while new­com­ers in­clude Ma­son Carter, Te­gan Tran, Braden Lines, Emily Jew­ers and Abby Letcher.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.