Many new faces on Labrador City coun­cil, Wabush has a mix of old and new

The Aurora (Labrador City) - - FRONT PAGE - BY MIKE POWER

Mu­nic­i­pal elec­tions in Labrador City and Wabush turned in some in­ter­est­ing re­sults with lots of new blood in Labrador City and a for­mer mayor in Wabush back to fill that po­si­tion once again.

In Labrador City, the bal­lot was one of the long­est the town has seen in a while. Fif­teen can­di­dates ran for seven po­si­tions. Coun­cil voted in Au­gust not to hold a sep­a­rate vote for mayor.

The can­di­date with the most votes in the elec­tion was Wayne But­ton, a new can­di­date. He polled 1,186 votes. But­ton has his own chi­ro­prac­tic clinic and is very in­volved with vol­un­teer work in the com­mu­nity. With the most votes, But­ton will be of­fered the po­si­tion of mayor when coun­cil meets for the first time early in October.

The can­di­date with the next num­ber of votes was Fabian Benoit, an­other new can­di­date, with 1,030 votes. Benoit is very in­volved with the Steel­work­ers union, sits on a num­ber of com­mit­tees and is also pres­i­dent of the Labrador West district labour coun­cil.

The re­main­ing elected are:

Ju­nior Humphries - 998 votes (re-elected)

Nick McGrath - 920 votes John Pen­ney - 883 votes (re­elected)

Ken Lawlor - 863 votes Richard Fa­hey - 783 votes can­di­dates

The elec­tion marks the first time the Labrador City coun­cil has been with­out a fe­male can­di­date in some while. Out­go­ing mayor Karen Old­ford de­cided not to run af­ter tak­ing on more work com­mit­ments.

In Wabush the elec­tion also in­cluded a race for mayor, with two well-sea­soned can­di­dates look­ing to fill the po­si­tion. The race was close, with Ron Bar­ron elected with 378 votes. Bar­ron has 12 years pre­vi­ous ex­pe­ri­ence on coun­cil, four as a coun­cil­lor, four as deputy mayor and four as mayor.

His op­po­nent Terry Cur­ran, with the same num­ber of years on coun­cil in var­i­ous po­si­tions, polled 317 votes.

Also elected to the Wabush coun­cil:

Richard Burke - 512 votes (re­elected)

Gertrude Can­ning - 487 votes (re-elected)

Sam An­drews - 443 votes Boyd Au­Coin – 423 votes Fran­cis De­lahunty - 419 votes Colin Vardy - 401 votes (for­mer mayor ran for coun­cil this elec­tion)

The new coun­cils will sworn in early in October.

With the is­sue of amal­ga­ma­tion, and the re­cent fea­si­bil­ity re­port rec­om­mend­ing the towns amal­ga­mate, it should make for a busy fall for new and re­turn­ing coun­cil­lors. The ques­tion for many vot­ers now is will they have to go back to the polls any­time in the near fu­ture? be


Ron Bar­ron is once again the mayor of Wabush.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.