Labrado­rian of Dis­tinc­tion awards to be handed out

The Aurora (Labrador City) - - FRONT PAGE -

Cer­e­monies will be held across Labrador to present 150 Labrado­rian of Dis­tinc­tion awards this week.

The award, which was launched by Labrador MP Yvonne Jones, is to cel­e­brate 150 Labrado­ri­ans of Dis­tinc­tion past and present, in con­junc­tion with Canada’s 150th an­niver­sary of con­fed­er­a­tion.

Fol­low­ing an open nom­i­na­tion process on the Labrado­ri­ans of Dis­tinc­tion web­site Jim Tut­tauk, Dwight Leth­bridge, LeeAnn Toomashie, Lind­say Earle, Diane Poole, Jamie Pye, Mar­lene Win­ters Wheeler, and El­iz­a­beth Evans Mitchell joined the se­lec­tion com­mit­tee rep­re­sent­ing five re­gions of Labrador. The se­lec­tion com­mit­tee has com­pleted re­view­ing the Labrado­ri­ans of Dis­tinc­tion nom­i­nees, made by Labrado­ri­ans in an open nom­i­na­tion process.

90 liv­ing and 60 de­ceased Labrado­ri­ans were cho­sen and will be hon­oured at the award cer­e­monies. Suc­cess­ful can­di­dates have been no­ti­fied with an in­vi­ta­tion to at­tend a cer­e­mony near them and fam­i­lies of de­ceased medal re­cip­i­ents will be in­vited to ac­cept on be­half of the fam­ily.

All cer­e­monies are open to pub­lic, ex­cept Labrador City where all avail­able spa­ces are taken. Cer­e­monies were held in Nain, Hope­dale and Makkovik yes­ter­day, the Happy Val­leyGoose Bay cer­e­mony is be­ing held tonight, Nov. 13 at the Lawrence O’Brien Cen­tre at 7 p.m. and the Labrador City event is be­ing held to­mor­row night at Meni­hek Ski Lodge. Events are be­ing held in Port Hope Simp­son (2 p.m. Alexis Ho­tel) and L’Anse au Loup (7 p.m. Town Hall) on Novem­ber 15.

A medal, cer­tifi­cate, book­let, and a spe­cial edi­tion of Them Days will be given to each Labrado­rian of Dis­tinc­tion re­cip­i­ent.

“I would like to thank ev­ery­one who nom­i­nated a fel­low Labrado­rian, the se­lec­tion com­mit­tee for their in­sight and com­mit­ment, my staff for bring­ing it all to­gether, and the spon­sors that are as­sist­ing with the cer­e­monies,” Jones said. “A huge thank you to the Labrador Shrimp Com­pany, Nu­natuKavut Com­mu­nity Coun­cil, Nu­na­cor, Innu De­vel­op­ment Cor­po­ra­tion, Nu­natsi­avut Group of Com­pa­nies, Iron Ore Com­pany, and PAL Air­lines for help­ing hon­our the first 150 Labrado­ri­ans of Dis­tinc­tion.”

For more in­for­ma­tion on the award visit www.labrado­ri­an­sofdis­tinc­


Labrador MP Yvonne Jones

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.