Joint coun­cils dis­cuss play­ground safety

Lo­cal direc­tors named to pro­vin­cial board


Recre­ation Direc­tors Rob But­ton, Carbonear and Ian Flynn, Bay Roberts spoke at the Con­cep­tion Bay North Joint Coun­cils reg­u­lar meet­ing May 28 in North River.

“They gave a slide pre­sen­ta­tion on play­ground safety, some of the things we might over­look,” said Joint Coun­cils Chair Frank Evely. “Some of th­ese things are sim­ple to fix and oth­ers are a lit­tle more dif­fi­cult.”

Ac­cord­ing to Evely the direc­tors talked about the im­por­tance of hav­ing equip­ment in proper work­ing con­di­tion and noted towns should al­ways be alert for prob­lems that could cause harm to a child or adult.

“They also pointed out the li­a­bil­ity risk of hav­ing play­ground equip­ment that’s not prop­erly main­tained,” Evely said.

The direc­tors gave a brief talk on the Bac­calieu Sum­mer Games as well.

“If any town would like an au­dit done on their play­ground, Ian Flynn is a cer­ti­fied play­ground in­spec­tor,” Evely said. “Th­ese guys are on the ball to see that their play­grounds are safe for kids to en­joy.”

Chair­man Evely said “the new mayor of Sal­mon Cove, Roy Rose, was in at­ten­dance and given a grand wel­come.”

The May 28 meet­ing was the fi­nal Joint Coun­cils meet­ing be­fore the fall elec­tion.

Along with Evely, the ex­ec­u­tive of Joint Coun­cils in­cludes Vice Chair­man Aubrey Rose, Sec­re­tary Norma Bon­nell and Trea­surer Dave Mur­phy.

“The ex­ec­u­tive wishes every­one a happy sum­mer,” the chair­man said.

Mean­while, both Rob But­ton and Ian Flynn have been named to the board of direc­tors for Recre­ation New­found­land and Labrador.

But­ton is the group’s pres­i­dent elect and will take over the top po­si­tion at next June’s an­nual gen­eral meet­ing.

Flynn rep­re­sents the Re­cre- ation Prac­ti­tion­ers/ Fa­cil­i­ties Com­mit­tee.

Wanda Wight of Pasadena was re-elected pres­i­dent, Gerry Hall, St. John’s is sec­re­tary-trea­surer and Todd Mercer, Spring­dale is past pres­i­dent.

Sean McKenna, Mount Pearl, rep­re­sents the Spe­cial Pop­u­la­tion Com­mit­tee.

Direc­tors in­clude Tina Auchin­leck-Ryan of Tor­bay, Tom Bur­ton, Grand Bank; Nancy Paul, Point Leam­ing­ton; Ja­son Hen­neb­ury, Churchill Falls; Bran­don Rear­don, St. An­thony and Wanda Mer­ri­gan of Port aux Basques.

Photo cour­tesy of Joint Coun­cils

RIGHT: RECRE­ATION DIREC­TORS - Recre­ation Direc­tors Rob But­ton, Carbonear, left and Ian Flynn, Bay Roberts, right pose for a shot with Con­cep­tion Bay North Joint Coun­cils As­soc. Chair­man Frank Evely. The direc­tors gave a pre­sen­ta­tion at a re­cent joint coun­cils meet­ing.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.