West side wins all

De­feats Rock Hard in best-of-five fi­nal

The Compass - - SPORTS -

West Side Char­lies is the 2010 cham­pion of the Car­bon­ear Molson Slo-Pitch Softball League, putting away Rock Hard Con­struc­tion 3-1 in the best-of-five cham­pi­onship se­ries.

West Side claimed the crown with a 22-17 vic­tory in Game 4 of the se­ries on Sept. 22, pow­ered by a four-hit per­for­mance by Cory Ma­haney and a home run each from Mike White­way and Scot Cleary. White­way, Paul O Leary and Kenny Hunt all fin­ished with three hits apiece for West Side. Sam White was the win­ning pitcher, while Stephen King suf­fered loss. But King had a hot bat for Rock Hard, fin­ish­ing with tree hits. Gord King, Trevor Gear and Ce­cil Tay­lor had two hits each for the los­ing side.

Mem­bers of the cham­pi­onship team in­clude the fol­low­ing: Cory Ma­haney, Eric Pen­ney, Mike White­way, Paul O Leary, John This­tle, Paul R. O’Leary, Mike Squires, Jamie Clarke, Sam White, Cur­tis Squires, Phil Hurley, Mat Pow­ell, John Jac­ques, Scot Cleary, Alf Bourne, Kenny Hunt, Pahl McCarthy and Brent Ma­haney.

West Side started the fi­nal with a 22-15 win on Sept. 16, with White­way again lead­ing the way with two round-trip­pers. Den­nis King had four hits, in­clud­ing a home run, for Rock Hard.

In Game 2, also played Sept. 16, the of­fen­sive flood­gates opened for both teams, with West Side pre­vail­ing by a score of 35-21. Mike Squires had five hits for West Side.

Rock Hard notched its only vic­tory in Game 3, with a 22-13 win on Sept. 22. Stephen King and Gord King each had four hits for Rock Hard.

West Side ad­vanced di­rectly to the fi­nal af­ter win­ning the reg­u­lar sea­son points race.

In semi-fi­nal ac­tion, Rock Hard and Butt’s Esso went the dis­tance in their best-of-five af­fair, with Rock Hard sqeak­ing out an 11-10 vic­tory in Game 5 on Sept. 15 to en­sure a spot in the fi­nal. Blair Par­sons and Den­nis King had three hits each in the de­cid­ing game.

The league staged it 33rd an­nual ban­quet and awards night on Oct. 2. The fol­low­ing is a list of win­ners:

• Most home runs — Jeff Par­sons, with 17;

• Top bat­ter — Cory Ma­haney, with a .659 av­er­age;

• Ralph How­ell Me­mo­rial Award — Ger­ard Grif­fin (13th time it’s gone to Grif­fin);

• For­ward and Pike tro­phy for first place team — West Side Char­lies;

• Molson cham­pi­onship tro­phy — West Side Char­lies

The league also re­in­stated the 2010 ex­ec­u­tive for an­other year. They in­clude: pres­i­dent Mike White­way, vicepres­i­dent Gord King, um­pire-in-chief Stephen King, sec­re­tary-trea­surer Chad Par­sons, and statis­ti­cian and pub­lic re­la­tions of­fi­cer Ger­ard Grif­fin.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.