Atom B Rovers strike gold in Har­bour Grace

The Compass - - ORTHTE -

The Bay Arena Rovers atom B team claimed gold at the Max Shute Me­mo­rial atom hockey tour­na­ment hosted by the Cee Bees Mi­nor Hockey As­so­ci­a­tion on the week­end of March 18-20.

The Rovers went un­de­feated in round-robin ac­tion with a per­fect 30 record. This in­cluded a 4-1 win over the host Cee Bees in the open­ing game of the tour­na­ment. The Rovers fol­lowed this up with a 5-1 win over Marystown and a 5-2 win over Bon­av­ista. Rover player-of-thegame awards went to Darcy Dawe, Tim Wil­liamson and Matthew Breaker.

The cham­pi­onship game fea­tured a re­match be­tween the Rovers and the Bon­av­ista Cabots with the Rovers pulling out a nar­row 4-3 vic­tory. Josh Mercer was the Rover player-of-the-game with a goal and an as­sist.

This tour­na­ment vic­tory, along with sim­i­lar per­for­mances in Whit­bourne and Bon­av­ista, gives the Rovers three gold medals this year. In ad­di­tion to this they have won sil­ver medals at Pla­cen­tia and Marystown.

The team was sched­uled to par­tic­i­pate in an in­vi­ta­tional tour­na­ment in the Goulds on March 25-27, and will host a tour­na­ment at the Bay Arena April 1-3.

Mem­bers of of the Bay Arena Rovers atom B team in­clude: Front (l-r) – Wil­liam Sey­mour and Neil Car­a­van; sec­ond row – Rob­bie Wil­liamson, Devon Earle, Blair But­ler, David Hibbs, Bradon Carl­son, Daniel Sey­mour, Nick An­drews and Tim Wil­liamson; third row – Daw­son Laun­dry, Terry Smith, Josh Mercer, Rob­bie Craig, Isiah But­ler, Darcy Dawe, Matthew Breaker, Alexan­der Car­a­van and Tye Reyna-Clarke; back row – coaches Geoff Sey­mour, Ja­son Carl­son, Sean Wil­liamson and Owen Clarke, and man­ager Laurie Hibbs.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.